Read-only archive of the Armageddon Games Forums Archive (2000–2026) · About this archive

deleting a combo

7 replies · 1,494 views · Started 14 January 2010

While in the combo pages.... I copied a combo and placed it on a new combo square to have one with new attributes, then changed my mind and deleted the copy.
When I did, all the combos above it shifted down one space.
That has the potential of fucking up a tileset real good.

I closed the program without saving, otherwise my set would have been TOAST.

Not a bug.

You can insert/delete/clear/paste combos now. 'Delete' will *delete* a combo while 'clear' will simply make it blank. I'm guessing you wanted to simply clear all data associated with it. Pressing 'i' or 'shift + i' will insert/delete a combo, so you can just do that if you accidentally delete blank combos instead of clearing them. It's a nice feature, actually.

bullshit man
the way it is now is going to destroy tilesets

it should NEVER move combos you haven't touched for ANY reason

OK, calm down Freedom. I *may* have that backwards.
...
..

Alright, so 'delete' in fact deletes the combo without moving the remaining combos down one index. ..It seems the issue here is in the right click menu and not in the shortcut keys (they are labeled backwards). Should be fixed in the next build.

There is, indeed, some sort of issue with regards to terminology. The 'Clear' right-click menu item erases the currently selected combo, whereas the 'Delete' right-click menu item performs the equivalent of shift-I - that is, uninsert the combo, as if it had been inserted. (This is, in fact, why I put it below 'Insert New' in the menu.) Pondering this, I conclude that it should really be labeled "Remove".

(Also worth fixing is the fact that 'Clear' asks confirmation, whereas Delete does not.)

Well as of an hour ago there is no longer any 'clear', only insert/remove to match i and shift->i. . .And while we're at it: the confirmation popup messages are rather annoying IMO. Do we really need them?

Isn't 'Clear' right below 'Paste' and 'Move'?

Personally, I think a confirmation for 'Remove' is necessary, if only to clarify exactly what it does.

there is another thing you need to consider.
Some folks like me... highlight a combo and hit delete on the keyboard ;O)