Read-only archive of the Armageddon Games Forums Archive (2000–2026) · About this archive

389:Save as

8 replies · 1,714 views · Started 20 June 2007

I was making my game. And I was going to change some settings to my game, so I did the SAVE-as, and made another file Eye2.qst. The original was Eye.qst. Then I noticed that Eye.qst was gone. It is like it erased it when I was doing the save-as. I am thinking this had to do with the auto backup things.

By the way, I noticed a heck of a lot of backup save things in my folder that are huge in size. Are they supposed to still be there? Or do we have to erase them on our own. I was only on for an hour or two, and it there is a little 50mb of space it is using now.

4 timed and 3 normal backups are kept by default; the files are huge because they are uncompressed, for maximum recovery chance should corruption occur.

You can decrease the number of backups kept by going to the ZQ options dialog.

Yeah, it's been reported before but I'm not able to reproduce it.
Eye.qb0 should be the same as the missing Eye.qst, but I'm not sure why Eye.qst disappeared. Does this deletion happen every time you Save As?

open zquest -> save as -> name = a -> save it then quit zquest -> start zquest again -> load up a.qst -> save as -> change the a without touching the .qst to a "b" then save -> note that now in your zelda classic folder there is a.qsb and b.qst but no more a.qst

i see the problem now, if you open a quest and do a "save as" then the extension on the original quest gets changed to .QB0 (where 0 is a number)

the original file is not tampered with nor is it changed in anyway except for its name. it also is NOT deleted.

edit: this also occurs if you simply open a quest then "save as" then hit ok without changing anything.