Read-only archive of the Armageddon Games Forums Archive (2000–2026) · About this archive

"Save as" bug

13 replies · 2,948 views · Started 30 May 2007

I have gotten it where when you are using an old file, then save it under another name,
then for whatever reason you decide to resave as the old name, the new file will be erased.

Example..
I saved (old) as 4.5
then "Save As" (new) 5.0
then re-"Save As" 4.5.... 5.0 will disappear.

What??? Every time a new version comes out I "save as" then open it in that new version then save again, sometimes doing multiple "save as". granted these are all dummy copies of my 254 quest just incase I ever ran into a saving bug.

What build are you using?
(why was 323 pulled...)

no it was successful, I even saved to the 5.0 afterwards, but as soon as
I would resave as the 4.5 the 5.0 vanished, everytime.

so you made a quest and had its version number set to 5.0 ? you saved it as "quest 1.qst" ? then (without closing zquest) you changed the version number to 4.5 and went to "save as" and saved it as "quest 2.qst" and found "quest 1.qst" to be deleted?

no, I save my files with version #'s in the title name, what I am saying is...

EXAMPLE: QuestX.qst, then I "save as" QuestX1.qst (for BU purposes), then
I decide to re"save as" QuestX.qst (so I don't have to restart my test quest
in the player that has the name "QuestX"😉 the saved file of QuestX1 disappears.

it seems to do it when it feels like it, but it does it alot..

I save my quests as (example), LOZ_O2QA_v5.0_(bd329).qst

I'm not seeing this bug, even when using your exact quest.
Does the file still get deleted if you do this procedure with more standard filenames, ie, ones without spaces or periods in their name?

Well this just happened to me. 😞> I saved "quest" as "quest403" and sure enough, "quest" was no more.