User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Speed?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    The Time-Loop Continues ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,826
    Mentioned
    259 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,964
    Level
    33
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.74%
    frame_rest_suggest just gives back CPU if >= 1. This prevents 100% CPU usage; for example when streaming or recording/whatever. The problem is allegro timers are not uniform across all OS or Windows versions, and with every new version of Windows their "compatability layers" keep getting worse and worse.

    The good news is that VLC is open source so I can dig around there if need be.

    I'm confused though: Is the FPS too high or too low?



    (PS1: ZoriaRPG, is _WIN32 macro set in your compiler settings, or just WIN32? [both should be])
    (PS2: frame_rest_suggest you can just leave at 0. Probably should be made the default on WIN8/WIN10)
    This post contains the official Gleeok seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

  2. #2
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,396
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,768
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.3%
    Quote Originally Posted by Gleeok View Post
    frame_rest_suggest just gives back CPU if >= 1. This prevents 100% CPU usage; for example when streaming or recording/whatever. The problem is allegro timers are not uniform across all OS or Windows versions, and with every new version of Windows their "compatability layers" keep getting worse and worse.

    The good news is that VLC is open source so I can dig around there if need be.

    I'm confused though: Is the FPS too high or too low?



    (PS1: ZoriaRPG, is _WIN32 macro set in your compiler settings, or just WIN32? [both should be])
    (PS2: frame_rest_suggest you can just leave at 0. Probably should be made the default on WIN8/WIN10)
    I thought that his FPS were dropping to ¬30 when VLC was either open, or running. It could have been the latter, and caused by a highly fragmented--or dying!!--HDD for all I know. I need more data fropm the OP, but he's using 2.50.2, not 2.53+, so it's not MSVC here--possibly elsewhere.

    What file should I check for those definitions? I'm pretty sure that both are set, but I may as well verify that.

    On the subject of framerate drops, apparently displaying the current FPS rate causes ZC Player to tank, and lose as much as 50% of its performance. I'm not yet sure why, as I haven't had time to look at it, but we'll need to eventually address some of these things, especially once I migrate the video bitmap to 32b OGL and start performing an intermediate blit--next version! (AL)

    frame_rate_suggest = 0 is the default now, AFAIR.

    I also need to rewrite the debug console, to use the newer w32 API, as when I compile using MSVC17/w10, it no longer works.

  3. #3
    The Time-Loop Continues ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,826
    Mentioned
    259 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,964
    Level
    33
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.74%
    Quote Originally Posted by ZoriaRPG View Post
    What file should I check for those definitions? I'm pretty sure that both are set, but I may as well verify that.
    Project Settings->Preprocessor,
    or, you can type this:
    Code:
    #ifndef _WIN32
    #error "no disassemble. Johnny 5 is ALIVE!" 
    #endif
    Seriously though, get back to me here. I need to know if that was set in the exact build that he tested.

    Quote Originally Posted by ZoriaRPG View Post
    On the subject of framerate drops, apparently displaying the current FPS rate causes ZC Player to tank, and lose as much as 50% of its performance. I'm not yet sure why, as I haven't had time to look at it, but we'll need to eventually address some of these things, especially once I migrate the video bitmap to 32b OGL and start performing an intermediate blit--next version! (AL)
    Ah. That's because ZC draws to the "screen" bitmap, which just happens to be really, really, slow if it is stored in gfx memory. Pro tip: Never draw to the 'screen' bitmap.
    This post contains the official Gleeok seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

  4. #4
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,396
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,768
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.3%
    Quote Originally Posted by Gleeok View Post
    Project Settings->Preprocessor,
    or, you can type this:
    Code:
    #ifndef _WIN32
    #error "no disassemble. Johnny 5 is ALIVE!" 
    #endif
    Seriously though, get back to me here. I need to know if that was set in the exact build that he tested.



    Ah. That's because ZC draws to the "screen" bitmap, which just happens to be really, really, slow if it is stored in gfx memory. Pro tip: Never draw to the 'screen' bitmap.
    I'll check tomorrow, as I powered off my dev machine for the day; but he was using 2.50.something, not one of my builds, so I would have no way of knowing what ppc stuff was set.

    You, or Saffith made all of those, but I'll ensure that it's set for 2.53, and above.

    Wait...the FPS textout is drawn directly to the video bitmap, instead of blitting to framebuf? I didn't notice that... Who thought that'd be a good idea?

    Every blit should be to a RAM bitmap, so that there is one, final blit to SCREEN at the end. That's how RAM/Video bitmaps work!! You only output directly to video bitmaps if you have real HWA, which absolutely nothing that I've worked on to any real extent has ever had (or usually needed) anyway.

  5. #5
    Keese
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    278
    Level
    6
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    14.62%
    Quote Originally Posted by Gleeok View Post
    I'm confused though: Is the FPS too high or too low?
    The FPS is to HIGH!!

    Without VLC-Player => 40/60 FPS
    With a running VLC-Player => 60/60 FPS

    If the VLC-Player is running, Link runs fast, the strings a written faster and of course I can fight faster. It is like a speedrun cheat.

  6. #6
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,396
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,768
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.3%
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeiiii View Post
    The FPS is to HIGH!!

    Without VLC-Player => 40/60 FPS
    With a running VLC-Player => 60/60 FPS

    If the VLC-Player is running, Link runs fast, the strings a written faster and of course I can fight faster. It is like a speedrun cheat.
    Precisely what are you doing with VLC when this occurs?

    I'm likewise at a loss to explain the game running faster when it shows 40FPS. Only the internal cheat 'Fast Link' could un-couple Link's movement and game framerate.

    Do you have any level of cheats enabled?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social