User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Increase maximum Cursor Scale

  1. #1
    Octorok Asuna Yuuki Nagato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Posts
    486
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    32
    Level
    2
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    20.5%

    Increase maximum Cursor Scale

    The current maximum Cursor Scale (which can be set via Etc->Options->Settings) is 5. I recommend increasing this as monitor resolutions are increasing and it becomes more difficult to see where the cursor is when the editor is maximized.

  2. #2
    Octorok Asuna Yuuki Nagato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Posts
    486
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    32
    Level
    2
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    20.5%
    I tried changing this line in zq_options.cpp:

    Code:
    					ROW_TF_FLOAT(OPT_CURS_LARGE, "Cursor Scale", 1, 10),
    and changing it to 10 in that menu but the cursor still appears the same size as when the scale was 5.

  3. #3
    Octorok Asuna Yuuki Nagato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Posts
    486
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    32
    Level
    2
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    20.5%
    load_mice() in zq_misc.cpp seems like a good place to investigate - it has a lot of hardcoded bitmap resolutions.

  4. #4
    Octorok Asuna Yuuki Nagato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Posts
    486
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    32
    Level
    2
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    20.5%
    In render.cpp, I tried changing what mouse_arrow_data is initialized to (it's a bitmap of the null mouse cursor) but I see no change after recompiling.

  5. #5
    The Time-Loop Continues ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,826
    Mentioned
    259 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,959
    Level
    33
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.22%
    Hmm... Off the top of my head so may not be correct /as in the code/, but allegro draws all bitmaps by blitting them to an internal bitmap, or backbuffer. I think it's being drawn to a dest rectangle, so unless you scale that final destination rect then it doesn't matter how big the source bitmap is.

    Or there is still allegro handling this internally as part of the GUI routines... this needs investigating.

    That is a good suggestion.
    This post contains the official Gleeok seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

  6. #6
    Octorok Asuna Yuuki Nagato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Posts
    486
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    32
    Level
    2
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    20.5%
    Quote Originally Posted by Gleeok View Post
    Hmm... Off the top of my head so may not be correct /as in the code/, but allegro draws all bitmaps by blitting them to an internal bitmap, or backbuffer. I think it's being drawn to a dest rectangle, so unless you scale that final destination rect then it doesn't matter how big the source bitmap is.

    Or there is still allegro handling this internally as part of the GUI routines... this needs investigating.

    That is a good suggestion.
    I didn't even change the size of mouse_arrow_data 2D array - just its contents, and still no change.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social