User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Please Help!!!!!

  1. #1
    Gel
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    142
    Level
    4
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    36.39%

    Please Help!!!!!

    I'm running Ubuntu 16.04 lts on my laptop. I can run ZQuest just fine with no complications, but when I load up zelda classic and start my game link will only be moving down without pressing any keys. I have tried to swap the conntrols in all aspects and still can't get it to work. since I'm using the nes pallete link can only move in one direction. I can't test my quest because of this. I'm runing the linux release for 2.50.2. Thanks in advance for any help

  2. #2
    Administrator War Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,026
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,295
    Level
    12
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.41%
    This sounds like you have a game pad plugged in that has a bad calibration on the Y axis.
    Do you have any game pads or peripherals plugged in, or just a mouse and keyboard?

  3. #3
    Gel
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    142
    Level
    4
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    36.39%
    Quote Originally Posted by War Lord View Post
    This sounds like you have a game pad plugged in that has a bad calibration on the Y axis.
    Do you have any game pads or peripherals plugged in, or just a mouse and keyboard?
    I'm just running with my built in keyboard and mouse touch pad.

  4. #4
    Is this the end?
    ZC Developer
    Saffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,384
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,232
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    36.56%
    Didn't someone else have this problem before? Sounds awfully familiar.

    Even if there's no controller, maybe it's still getting joystick input for some reason. Try changing the joystick_index in ag.cfg. It can be anything from 0 to 4.
    Last edited by Saffith; 12-17-2016 at 12:19 AM.

  5. #5
    Keese
    ZC Developer

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    633
    Level
    8
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    94.03%
    I had a problem like this a while ago (also on linux) where, for some reason, ZC was treating my accelerometer as a joystick. Try tilting the laptop around to see if it changes direction?

  6. #6
    Gel
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    142
    Level
    4
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    36.39%
    Thank you to Warlord, Saffith, and Grayswandir. Grayswandir was correct in in his thought. When I tilted the laptop it did change the direction of Link's movement. Thank you for all of your help!!!!! :)

  7. #7
    Administrator War Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,026
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,295
    Level
    12
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.41%
    Not a problem.
    You were able to adjust the ag.cfg to prevent it from happening then?

  8. #8
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer
    ZoriaRPG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,367
    Mentioned
    110 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,548
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.46%
    Quote Originally Posted by War Lord View Post
    Not a problem.
    You were able to adjust the ag.cfg to prevent it from happening then?
    I think that disabling the accelerometer was in the cards, but shifting the input to another device in ag.cfg may've worked.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social