User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Did PureZC just move?

  1. #1
    Administrator DarkDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    6,228
    Mentioned
    70 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    10,881
    Level
    30
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    90.89%

    Did PureZC just move?

    I swear I could access the site yesterday, but today I'm getting messages about the DNS. Should I just wait, or am I suppose to go somewhere other than http://www.purezc.net/?

  2. #2
    How many licks to get to the center Chris Miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    of a Tootsie Roll Pop?
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,460
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    5,347
    Level
    22
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    80.96%
    It works for me. They did just move servers at 7am EST today. LinktheMaster said there might be some DNS issues for a while.


    http://www.purezc.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=71264

    Download Lands of Serenity today! You will be knocked comatose by its sheer awesomeness.
    The Titan's Quest, best played in the bathroom as the excitement can be somewhat...overwhelming.





    Official AGN Discord Channel

    Official ZC Dev Discord Channel

  3. #3
    Is this the end?
    ZC Developer
    Saffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,384
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,232
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    36.59%
    It did indeed. It's working again for me now.

  4. #4
    Octorok
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Age
    36
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,067
    Level
    11
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.82%
    After flushing my DNS several times, flushing the OpenDNS cache, rebooting my router, and flushing my client DNS one more time it works.
    Wonder why they moved to a different datacenter?

    It seems they rebuilt their software; they switched to a slightly old Apache and instead of having an expired SSL certificate they completely removed HTTPS. Perhaps they could install Certbot and add full HTTPS, as Linode servers handle HTTPS quite easily.
    Last edited by BFeely; 11-27-2016 at 09:17 PM.

  5. #5
    Administrator DarkDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    6,228
    Mentioned
    70 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    10,881
    Level
    30
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    90.89%
    It loads on my phone but still not on my PC. It seems like they just changed owners, which would explain the server switch.

  6. #6
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer
    ZoriaRPG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,369
    Mentioned
    110 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,553
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    27.4%
    Quote Originally Posted by BFeely View Post
    After flushing my DNS several times, flushing the OpenDNS cache, rebooting my router, and flushing my client DNS one more time it works.
    Wonder why they moved to a different datacenter?

    It seems they rebuilt their software; they switched to a slightly old Apache and instead of having an expired SSL certificate they completely removed HTTPS. Perhaps they could install Certbot and add full HTTPS, as Linode servers handle HTTPS quite easily.
    The server isn't with Linode any longer, (publicly) because of all the DDOS attacks that Linode is routinely swamped by, and (speculatively) likely also to reduce costs....do we need/care about HTTPS/443 on Pure? A single machine cert is rather affordable these days, so I suppose if it's important-enough, someone might offer to procure one. I'm not terribly worried about data capture of logins, or posts that I make there. That information is pretty worthless, IMO.

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkDragon View Post
    It loads on my phone but still not on my PC. It seems like they just changed owners, which would explain the server switch.
    It took the full bleeping day for the DNS updates to reach me.

  7. #7
    Octorok
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Age
    36
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,067
    Level
    11
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.82%
    Actually they moved it to a different Linode datacenter, but they did move away from the one that suffered the huge DDOS attack.
    As for HTTPS, it does have a forum with usernames and passwords, and a certificate for a VPS can be obtained for free at letsencrypt.org
    I think the Certbot software can even automatically configure the Apache server.
    Last edited by BFeely; 11-29-2016 at 08:23 AM.

  8. #8
    Administrator War Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,026
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,295
    Level
    12
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.49%
    SSL isn't a huge deal when you're speaking of what our content is, but Google is working on making sites that aren't secure a pain to deal with, and with how large of a market share Chrome has, that is a big deal. Or will be before long rather.

    http://www.theverge.com/2016/9/8/128...ogle-ssl-https

  9. #9
    Octorok
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Age
    36
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,067
    Level
    11
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.82%
    I'm not sure if Hostrocket even supports HTTPS on the service AGN uses. Since PureZC uses Linode (a VPS provider) assuming they are not buying shared hosting from the operator of the VPS acquiring HTTPS can be done using an automated Python application called Certbot.
    That said, the warning in Chrome will be phased in, at first showing a warning whenever a password field is detected on a non-secure website.
    There is already a flag in Chrome which will if enabled display a red triangle next to all non-secure websites.

  10. #10
    Administrator War Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,026
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,295
    Level
    12
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.49%
    I'm aware of how it works in both situations.
    The SSL comment above just reminded me of the Chrome story and how much trouble it will initially cause, though it is perhaps for the best if SSL becomes more the norm.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social