User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Using the Amulet

  1. #1
    Octorok Lelouche Vi Britannia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Britannia - Area 11
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    972
    Level
    10
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    80.61%

    Using the Amulet

    So based on what I've read so far, the Amulet is meant to be used as it was in Zelda 2, to make enemies that are normally invisible appear. So in the quest I'm working on, I'm trying to make it so that the amulet is needed to see Ghini's of all types. But apparently this is harder than it looks.

    I set the invis option to the Ghinis then made sure my test set up has the amulet. But the Ghinis are still invisible to me.

    I'm editing in 2.50 Build 8. Any idea why this isn't working?
    Lost my wings and grew 8 tentacles... I've seen enough Hentai to know where this is going....

  2. #2
    Here lies mero. Died by his own dumbassitude.
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    5,527
    Level
    23
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    13.96%
    This is a bit tricky
    The misc flag 'Is Invisible' actually makes it completely invisible. No exceptions.
    If you want it to be invisible like in Zelda 2 you'll need a script and a way to identify Ghinis. "I know the floating ghinis are there own type, not sure about the walking ones."
    Also you sure update your version.

  3. #3
    Octorok Lelouche Vi Britannia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Britannia - Area 11
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    972
    Level
    10
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    80.61%
    Am I behind somehow, I downloaded what I thought was the latest version, or did it update since then?

    And scripting? Yikes... I have no idea how to even begin on that front. Maybe for simplicity sake, I should just slag the idea of needing the amulet at all for now. Unless the scripting thing is easier than it sounds?
    Last edited by Lelouche Vi Britannia; 10-29-2015 at 09:45 PM. Reason: Forgot to add script question.
    Lost my wings and grew 8 tentacles... I've seen enough Hentai to know where this is going....

  4. #4
    Here lies mero. Died by his own dumbassitude.
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    5,527
    Level
    23
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    13.96%
    Get it from shardstorm. That's where I go.
    http://armageddongames.net/showthrea...Classic-2-50-2

    Scripting is easy once you know what your doing, go through @Saffith tutorials. (Link these would yeah my good friend I can't seem to find them here)
    Some people say your not ready; I beg the differ.

    I can write it for yeah if you like.

  5. #5
    Octorok Lelouche Vi Britannia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Britannia - Area 11
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    972
    Level
    10
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    80.61%
    I'll try on my own first. I was learning C++ in college, but that was years ago... Thanks. If I do get frustrated to the point of annoyance, I'll look you up again.
    Lost my wings and grew 8 tentacles... I've seen enough Hentai to know where this is going....

  6. #6
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer
    ZoriaRPG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,373
    Mentioned
    110 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,571
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    30.9%
    That's something I hope to eventually change, TBH. the option in the EE is misleading, and essentially equivalent to setting the enemy to a blank combo; so it's sort of a waste. I wanted to add flags :

    '...and is revealed by item ID [ field ] '
    '...but has a shadow.'

    ...to that EE flag.

    I suggest adding to your list of Ghost.zh additions / expansions, a flag GHF_INVISIBLE_ITEM(item_ID). That would be a nice bonus, and would mostly need to change the combo ID from x to GH_INVISIBLE (or whatever that constant is), and back again, if the item specified is true. That'd be a nice stopgap, until we can edit the editor.

    I made some Ghostbusters-related things, that did this, with an 'Ecto Goggles' item about two years ago. (Nothing too fancy.)

  7. #7
    Quest Builder Anarchy_Balsac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,455
    Level
    16
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.03%
    It's not really useless, it works great for making a nigh-unkillable Gohma boss.

  8. #8
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer
    ZoriaRPG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,373
    Mentioned
    110 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,571
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    30.9%
    Is there some reason that you can't just assign blank tiles to the Ghoma, too?

  9. #9
    Quest Builder Anarchy_Balsac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,455
    Level
    16
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.03%
    Quote Originally Posted by ZoriaRPG View Post
    Is there some reason that you can't just assign blank tiles to the Ghoma, too?
    Not without blankking tiles that would make at least the eyes of all Gohma's invisible, at least if you're NOT using new enemy tiles.

    Due to the way boss animations work, making them invisible without making other version of them at least partly invisible is impossible.

  10. #10
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer
    ZoriaRPG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,373
    Mentioned
    110 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,571
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    30.9%
    Quote Originally Posted by Anarchy_Balsac View Post
    Not without blankking tiles that would make at least the eyes of all Gohma's invisible, at least if you're NOT using new enemy tiles.

    Due to the way boss animations work, making them invisible without making other version of them at least partly invisible is impossible.
    Oh, well, I always use 'new enemy tiles'. Still, you can duplicate the tiles, make some blank, and select a left tile for each version. Ghoma is six tiles, three for the body, plus three, for eyes, all in a line. You can make as many sets as you want.

    I also believe that you can set Ghoma's width to 3, to ignore the additional animations; although I've no idea why I'm discussing this at all.
    Last edited by ZoriaRPG; 10-31-2015 at 03:36 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social