User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fullscreen Issue

  1. #1
    A Cryptic Wizard TheDarkOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    California (when not in Storybrooke, ME)
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    201 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,111
    Level
    15
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    21.02%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    151.24%

    Fullscreen Issue

    I've been trying to get ZC to open to fullscreen, but when it does, there's this weird flickering blue field on the right half of the screen and things move very slowly. It makes the game unplayable until going back to windowed mode. The same thing happens with ZQuest. Is this a compatibility issue with Windows 8.1?
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

  2. #2
    A Cryptic Wizard TheDarkOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    California (when not in Storybrooke, ME)
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    201 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,111
    Level
    15
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    21.02%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    151.24%
    169 views and not a single response...guess that answers my question.
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

  3. #3
    Gibdo
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    waiting in hell for ya all
    Posts
    887
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    3,699
    Level
    19
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    43.55%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    49.66%
    Its a issue with windows 8.1 I can confirm. I haven't been able to go full screen since upgrading to windows 8 and 8.1. Just play in a windowed mode and you'll get used to after a while.

  4. #4
    Developer ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,748
    Mentioned
    250 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,568
    Level
    32
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    84.03%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    94.81%
    I'm not familiar with windows 8 so I don't know what they changed so that legacy Direct-X doesn't work full-screen anymore.

    Is this a problem with all allegro-4 games, or just zc?
    This post contains the official Gleeok™ seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

  5. #5
    A Cryptic Wizard TheDarkOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    California (when not in Storybrooke, ME)
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    201 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,111
    Level
    15
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    21.02%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    151.24%
    Quote Originally Posted by Ventus View Post
    Its a issue with windows 8.1 I can confirm. I haven't been able to go full screen since upgrading to windows 8 and 8.1. Just play in a windowed mode and you'll get used to after a while.
    I did get used to the game itself, but working with ZQ is a little harder to do. I actually still have the older (1.92) version and it works in full screen. But the quest I am working on is in 2.1 and I doubt it would be compatible.
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

  6. #6
    Developer ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,748
    Mentioned
    250 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,568
    Level
    32
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    84.03%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    94.81%
    I don't know why 1.92 would work but 2.5 wouldn't. :/

    Does disabling any of the more recently added win32 graphics stuff in the config file help? ie; dwm_flush, direct_updating, etc.
    This post contains the official Gleeok™ seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

  7. #7
    A Cryptic Wizard TheDarkOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    California (when not in Storybrooke, ME)
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    201 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,111
    Level
    15
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    21.02%
    Daily Activity
    0%
    Weekly Activity
    20%
    Monthly Activity
    151.24%
    I haven't tried disabling anything in the config file--I try not to mess with those unless it is absolutely necessary. As for why 1.92 works and not 2.5, that probably has more to do with Windows than ZC.
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •