User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

  1. #21
    Wizrobe Pineconn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,350
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    10,477
    Level
    30
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    41.59%

    Re: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

    I guess I encountered some odd bug with this script in The Fort Knights. Somehow I died while Link disappeared after I fell down a pit but before Link reappeared on the surface. The result? When Link resurfaced, he was invisible. The only way to remedy this was to fall down the pit again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe123
    Do I not need to work about the invisible LTM then?
    I hope this isn't what I was talking about, and therefore I would look like an idiot...
    My quests:
    End of Time - First quest, uses classic graphics (Help/discussion thread)
    Link to the Heavens - Second quest, uses Pure tileset (YouTube LP | Help/discussion thread)
    End of Time DX - Remake of my first quest (YouTube LP | Help/discussion thread)

  2. #22
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,300
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.29%

    Re: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

    Quote Originally Posted by Amaster42 View Post
    Nope. Definitely a non-zero transparent combo. I'm stumped.
    Well, I made a few minor changes to the script between last using it and posting it up, so I'll go and check it again but I don't think I could've broken it.


    I guess I encountered some odd bug with this script in The Fort Knights. Somehow I died while Link disappeared after I fell down a pit but before Link reappeared on the surface. The result? When Link resurfaced, he was invisible. The only way to remedy this was to fall down the pit again.
    Oh yeah, I've fixed that one.

    Do I not need to work about the invisible LTM then?
    I hope this isn't what I was talking about, and therefore I would look like an idiot...
    Funny, I meant to put 'worry' there, not 'work'.

    Anyway, at the moment the script requires making Link invisible via LTM, but _L_ was suggesting another method.

    He didn't reply though, so at the moment, LTM still.

  3. #23
    Wizrobe The_Amaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    St. Mystere
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,803
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    8,807
    Level
    28
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.68%

    Re: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

    Well, step by step heres what I do:

    1.)Open Scripts.z
    2.)Set the 5 variables at the top of the script.
    3.)Save and Quit
    4.)Open up ZC and my quest.
    5.)Go to "Import ZScript"
    6.) Import and Compile
    7.) Assign to slot 4.
    8.)Go to FFC 5.
    9.)Set the combo ot a non-zero blank.
    10.) Assign it script 4
    11.) Set the arguments.(For the record, the only one I set is the combo number)
    12.)Save and quit
    13.) Open ZC and my quest.
    14.) Walk on the combos. Nothing happens.
    15.) Open ZC. The FFC is blank. WTH?

    If it matters, my pit combo is entirely blank property wise.

  4. #24
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,300
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.29%

    Re: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

    You set the combo number?
    And what number are you setting there?

    The Combo ID number of a combo that looks like a pit?

    Don't be doing that.

    What you want to do is make all of your pits have the combo type number (so, 35 for centre statue) that is set in that box.
    Centre Statue is default.

    So don't make your pit combos blank propertywise, and don't set an absurdly high value in that box, because it ain't a combo ID.

    That doesn't solve the dissapearing FFC problem though.
    Hrm.

  5. #25
    Wizrobe The_Amaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    St. Mystere
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,803
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    8,807
    Level
    28
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    25.68%

    Re: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

    Ohhhhhhhhh...
    I get it now. That makes sense. I had the two confused. Off to test.

    EDIT: She works! As for the reseting, well I had to similar test screens set up, and on only one had I set it to a non-zero. There's the problem.

  6. #26
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,300
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.29%

    Re: Gameboy-Zelda Style Bottomless Pits/Lava Script

    And now Mark 2:
    Code:
    const int linkfalling = 0; // set here the first tile of your 5 tile Link Falling animation
    const int linklava = 0; // set here the first tile of your 5 tile Link Drowning animation
    const int fallingsfx = 0; // set here the SFX that plays when Link falls
    const int lavasfx = 0; // set here the SFX that plays when Link drowns in lava
    
    ffc script hole{
    	void run(int lava, int warpx, int warpy, int combotype, int tile){    
    	int sfx = fallingsfx;
    	if(warpx == 0 && warpy == 0){Waitframes(5); warpx = Link->X; warpy = Link->Y;}
    	if(tile == 0){tile = linkfalling;}
    	if(combotype == 0){combotype = 35;}
    	if(lava != 0){if(tile == linkfalling){tile = linklava;}sfx = lavasfx;}
    	int i; int x; int y; bool falling;
    
    		while(true){
    			falling = false;
    			while(Screen->ComboT[ComboAt(Link->X+8, Link->Y+8)] != combotype || Link->Z > 0 || Link->Action == LA_FROZEN) Waitframe();
    
    			i = 0;
    			while(Screen->ComboT[ComboAt(Link->X+8, Link->Y+8)] == combotype && Link->Z == 0 && Link->Action != LA_FROZEN && i < 5){
    				i++;
    				if(i==5) falling = true;
    			Waitframe();
    			}
    
    			if(falling){
    				Screen->ClearSprites(3);
    				Game->PlaySound(sfx);
    				x = Link->X; y = Link->Y;
    				for(i=0;i<40;i++){
    					Waitframe();
    					Link->Action = LA_DROWNING;
    					if(lava == 0) Screen->DrawTile(2, x, y, tile+Floor(i/8), 1, 1, 6, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, true, 128);
    					else Screen->DrawTile(2, x, y, tile+Floor(i/8), 1, 1, 6, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, true, 128);
    				}
    				Link->X = warpx; Link->Y = warpy;
    				Link->Action = 0;
    				Link->HP -= 8;
    				Game->PlaySound(19);
    			}
    		}
    	}
    }
    No need for silly Link Tile Modifiers anymore!
    All other set up is the same though.

  7. #27
    Gel KCJV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    328
    Level
    6
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    62.4%
    I got the error "Line 204, error T21: Couldn't match type signature Drawtile(Screen, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Float, Bool, Float)
    Last edited by KCJV; 12-27-2015 at 06:38 PM.

  8. #28
    The Time-Loop Continues ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,815
    Mentioned
    259 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,933
    Level
    33
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    23.44%
    The script is old so there's an updated script at pzc I believe.

    Otherwise DrawTile needs a corresponding y_scale argument:
    Code:
    Screen->DrawTile(2, x, y, tile+Floor(i/8), 1, 1, 6, 1, 1 // <------here
    , 0, 0, 0, 0, true, 128);
    This post contains the official Gleeok seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

  9. #29
    Gel KCJV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    328
    Level
    6
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    62.4%
    I did this, it now works fine thanks

  10. #30
    The Timelord
    QDB Manager
    ZC Developer

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Prydon Academy
    Posts
    1,396
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    4,760
    Level
    21
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    68.7%
    Oh my, we're using 2.11-era code files?...

    Actually, I think this was one of the things I had to fix in the Starshooter script to get Starshooter to work, and not crash, on a release build of 2.5. I know it was some series of drawing functions that had been revised, with more args in newer ZC versions.
    @Tamamo maintains the update of the holes script though, so it might be good to post the latest version here.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social