Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Level
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    39.95%

Question Another newbie, more newbie questions

I'm new to Zelda Classic, and using the latest beta (704) since it seems as though a lot of key features have been introduced since then. Like any newbie with a complicated new toy, though, I've run into some snags...

1) While I've followed Alphadawg's tutoral to make my first cave, it doesn't seem to work -- the Guy appears on the overworld despite my making a cave as directed (I chose to make it tile warp A out of A-D, using the matching cave tile and exit marker). Even stranger, the wooden sword still appears inside the cave after I pick it up on the overworld! (Heck, there's even Keeses in the room that I didn't put there.) Did I miss something here? It is indeed a level 0 overworld map -- I verified that much. Do I have to assign the Guy to A in some way I haven't been told?

2) Does a tutorial exist for making NPCs such as you find in villages, as opposed to Guys? I presume it involves Freeform Combos in some way, but I'm not entirely sure where to begin. -- Pteryx

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Level
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    39.95%

Re: Another newbie, more newbie questions

Another question comes to mind on the subject of how to simulate an NPC, now that I've tracked down some fraction of the scattered tutorials and references on te Web: is there a way to cause a script to run by stepping on a particular combo? Something to simply call void Message() when you "bump into" (step on the walkable portion of) a particular type of combo and won't retrigger unless you completely leave the combo and return to step on it again would make what I have in mind simple. -- Pteryx

Wizrobe
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Level
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    43.21%