User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Pulling Pushblocks

  1. #11
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,303
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.74%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Wait, assuming that the syntax for what you posted earlier would be:
    Code:
    for(timer = 0; timer < 32; timer++){
    	if(movelink){Link->X = Link->X -1;}
    	movelink = !movelink;
    }
    Won't that activate once, then set movelink to false so it won't happen again?

  2. #12
    Gibdo Praethus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Age
    40
    Posts
    894
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,892
    Level
    14
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    49.19%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    No. movelink starts as true. Then its get set to not true (! = not) aka false. Then it gets set to not false (! = not again) aka true. ! means set it to not whatever, not set it to false.
    Current Quests in Progress...
    Zelda: Eya's Song

  3. #13
    Wizrobe C-Dawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,205
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,611
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    99.9%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Why use the for loop at all? Just put this in your general "while(true)" loop:

    linkmoves = !linkmoves;

    if(linkmoves){ Link->X = Link->X++;}


    That'll execute once and only once each time through the while loop.

  4. #14
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,303
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.74%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Ohhh, thanks Preathus.
    However, if I do it like that I can't then only have Link move every 3 frames or something, so I'll stick to the counter for my current purposes.

    And because I want the rest of the script to stop while I use the for loop, makes it less confusing, I have 3 or 4 tiers of if statments or something like that so for means I don't have to worry about the rest of the script while that part's running.

  5. #15
    Octorok
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Age
    47
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    1,253
    Level
    12
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    9.27%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    has any progress been made Joe?, I would love to use this when
    you get it done.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    NEWEST QUESTS:
    -----------------------------------------------------
    ZC 2.5 build 635+ (Player): Origins III
    -----------------------------------------------------
    visit my web site, for all my quests Einstein Games

  6. #16
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,303
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.74%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Blimey, I left off on this one months ago.

    I'd got it working quite nicely in one direction, but when I duplicated the script for the other directions I ran into endless problems.

    There were also quite a few bugs with it, and especially with it's interaction with Beefster's Roll script.

    And no-one drew me sprites for DoR Link pulling the blocks in the end aswell, which wasn't great either.

    I might well go back and have a look at it again sometime though, it'd definately be worth completing I think.

    It will take a long time to re-work it and find out how I was doing it again though, I might well end up re-writing it.

  7. #17
    Gibdo beefster09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    699
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    2,710
    Level
    16
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    97.39%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Hey, do you think it would be possible to make blocks pulled with the hookshot? That would be pretty cool.
    Avatar: Just who the SPAAAACE do you think I am?

  8. #18
    &&
    ZC Developer
    Joe123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,061
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    7,303
    Level
    26
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    8.74%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    I'd say yes, provided that you re-scripted the hookshot.

  9. #19
    Lynel
    ZC Developer
    pkmnfrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    3,142
    Level
    18
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    10.56%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Actually, not necessarily. Remember, the combos that you set on FFCs can have flags (inherent, for sure, maybe regular), and can be triggered. FFCs have a "WasTriggered()" function which indicates this very condition. So, if you make the FFC react to hookshots, then you can have a script like this:

    Code:
    while(this->WasTriggered() == false) {
      Waitframe();
    }
    
    if(abs(Link->X - this->X) > abs(Link->Y - this->Y)) {
      //from the top or bottom
      if(Link->Y < this->Y) { //top
        //move me up
      } else {
        //move me down
      }
    } else {
      //from the left or right
      if(Link->X < this->X) { //left
        //move me left
      } else {
        //move me right
      }
    }
    So, this is perfectly viable. The catch is that they can only be pulled once, since I don't think you can reset WasTriggered() anyway.
    Tale of the Cave - a web comic - Updates Monday, Wednesday, Friday
    ZC Tutorials - Tutorials and Script Library - Updated July 30, 2008
    ZeldaGuard - Corruption in my save files? It's more likely than you think!
    I do script requests!

  10. #20
    The Time-Loop Continues ZC Developer
    Gleeok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,826
    Mentioned
    259 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    12,959
    Level
    33
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    26.21%

    Re: Pulling Pushblocks

    Quote Originally Posted by beefster09 View Post
    Hey, do you think it would be possible to make blocks pulled with the hookshot? That would be pretty cool.
    Hey that's not a bad idea. I'm sure you could get it to pull enemies as well, or, maybe just certain kinds of them set with enemy->Tile. It would probably look stupid reeling in a Gleeok.


    Instead of wastriggered() howabout just using is_walkable type functions and let the player pull it around wherever it will fit, untill it triggers something.
    This post contains the official Gleeok seal of approval. Look for these and other posts in an area near you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social