User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Creating another FFC in Zasm

  1. #1
    Lynel Revfan9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In front of a screen. I never leave.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,160
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    3,390
    Level
    18
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    71.1%

    Creating another FFC in Zasm

    How do I use Zasm to create another FFC, and that FFC having a script of it's own? I saw it done in _L_'s Revolution Dungeon with that boss at the end, but I have been looking over that script over and over again and I just cannot figure it out. Can someone explain it for me?

  2. #2
    Is this the end?
    ZC Developer
    Saffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Age
    41
    Posts
    3,389
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,433
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.1%

    Re: Creating another FFC in Zasm

    There's basically only one way to do anything like that, as far as I know.
    Have the "created" FFC start out invisible. When you want to activate it, change its combo so that it's visible. Have the FFC watch for this change, and not do anything until then. Something like this:
    Code:
             SETR d7, data
    waitLoop COMPARER data, d7
             GOTOFALSE activate
             WAITFRAME
             GOTO waitLoop

  3. #3
    Lynel Revfan9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In front of a screen. I never leave.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,160
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    3,390
    Level
    18
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    71.1%

    Re: Creating another FFC in Zasm

    Okay, another question: How can I get the position of another FFC? Do I use SETA1 and LOAD1? If so, how do I use them? What I am trying to do is have a "laser" that goes from FFC to FFC at regular intervals.

  4. #4
    Is this the end?
    ZC Developer
    Saffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Age
    41
    Posts
    3,389
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,433
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.1%

    Re: Creating another FFC in Zasm

    Yep, those're the ones. If I'm not mistaken, the syntax is like this:

    Code:
     SETV a1, 2  ; Load FFC #2 into a1
     LOAD1 d0, y ; Load FFC #2's Y position into the current FFC's d0
     SETA1 x, d1 ; Set FFC #2's X position to the current FFC's d0
    Basically, for LOAD1 and LOAD2, the first argument is in the current FFC and the second argument is in the other FFC, and SETA1 and SETA2 are the other way around. They all set the first argument's value to that of the second argument.

    I believe that will work, but it's not what the compiler does. It uses an argument called REFFFC. I'm not sure how that works.

  5. #5
    Is this the end?
    ZC Developer
    Saffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Age
    41
    Posts
    3,389
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,433
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.1%

    Re: Creating another FFC in Zasm

    (Edit: Oops.)

  6. #6
    Lynel Revfan9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In front of a screen. I never leave.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,160
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    3,390
    Level
    18
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    71.1%

    Re: Creating another FFC in Zasm

    Another question (sorry about all of the questions, but there really needs to be more documentation on this lying around ): How can I set a random value in Zasm? Is there a way to set an upper and lower limit on the random value with a command, or do I have to do it manually?

  7. #7
    Is this the end?
    ZC Developer
    Saffith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Age
    41
    Posts
    3,389
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    vBActivity - Stats
    Points
    6,433
    Level
    24
    vBActivity - Bars
    Lv. Percent
    70.1%

    Re: Creating another FFC in Zasm

    There are random number instructions, but I don't think they work quite right. As I understand it, RNDV d0, 5 should give you a random number n such that 0<=n<5. I think it should be an integer, but I'm not certain of that. Either way, it doesn't. Regardless, I can't get it to produce 4 or greater, so I think it's a bit off.
    However, RNDV d0, 1 does seem to give numbers 0<=n<1, as one would expect. I suggest, therefore, that you get your random numbers as min+(random 0..1)*(max-min). That is:
    Code:
     RNDV d0, 1
     MULTV d0, 5
     ADDV d0, 5
    ... should set d0's value to a random number between 5 and 10.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Armageddon Games is a game development group founded in 1997. We are extremely passionate about our work and our inspirations are mostly drawn from games of the 8-bit and 16-bit era.
Social