PDA

View Full Version : Windowed mode, vsync stutter, DWM (Vista+)

Nicholas Steel
10-24-2014, 07:41 PM
This is a topic discussing how developers of software can eliminate most causes of stutter in Windowed programs under Windows Vista and newer Windows operating systems while using an Aero desktop theme (So the compositor is handling vsync), basically making vsync as stable and stutter free as it is under Windows XP and older!

Below is my understanding of why windowed programs under Windows Vista and newer tend to suffer from erroneous/excessive stutter while using an Aero desktop theme (Compared to running the software under Windows XP and older). Included, is an explanation of a simple change which can be made to existing vsync code to avoid the problems. The change should be "fairly easy" to implement (I'm not a programmer, I dunno how easy it actually is).

-------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------
Windows Vista and newer Windows operating systems use a compositor which currently handles vsync operations for the desktop and non-exclusive fullscreen display mode programs. The compositor will only handle vsync operations while using an Aero desktop theme under Windows Vista & 7, under Windows 8 the compositor will always handle vsync regardless of desktop theme.

There is no sure fire way to detect exactly when vblank will occur because displays/GPU isn't necessarily required to generate a vblank interrupt (And it may not reliably generate a interrupt even if it did). So programs (Including the compositor?) will generally poll for vblank.