PDA

View Full Version : Creative Writing Excercises

SUCCESSOR
05-18-2014, 05:36 AM
Well, I noticed there are a few writers here. I recently posted some stuff on PZC's Poetry Thread and it made me realize that I haven't written in about 5 years. This has really been bugging me. I have been a writer since I was a child. I always aspired toward writing a novel but I have never been good at forming a complete story, though I have had a lot of great ideas throughout the years.

Anyway, I decided to start doing some writing exercises to get the creative juices flowing. I invite you--no, I CHALLENGE YOU! (just kidding)--to do them with me. Whatever comes out of it doesn't have to be awesome or majestic. Just do it. It's an exercise not a test. It's should take 5 to 20 minutes not hours of labor

tl;dr:

First Exercise: 7x7x7x7
*Take the seventh book from your bookshelf(or the seventh book you can find in your house), located the seventh page, take the seventh sentence and make it the first line of your poem(or prose) that is only seven lines long.

The seventh book on my shelf was Shapechanger's Song. Due to weird page numbering I used the seventh page in chapter 1 which was actually page 26 and I went to the next line because the seventh sentence contained a made up word(as fantasy novels often due) that I didn't want to be confusing. I think writing this post has taken longer than it took me to do the exercise. I must be rambling.
Here's what I did:

Well, and I had thought to make you mine.
If this is so then I would not oppose the divine.
Raptured as I am by the timbre of your soul.
Staid and sturdily I shall stand controlled.

Tempured by the hammer of your wit,
Tempted by the tenor of your drift,
As the philosopher upon the cosmos pines.

Liliith
05-18-2014, 04:12 PM
---

CJC
05-20-2014, 01:42 AM
My line is from Hostetler's Calculus, which was the last in a stack of seven math books.

The January readings for various years are shown in Figure P.11.