PDA

View Full Version : “...no one is born a great cook, one learns by doing.”

Mercy
04-11-2014, 05:51 PM
It gives me a sad whenever I hear about an adult that cannot cook. Eating is a basic necessity in life and being able to feed oneself should be a well-honed skill set for anyone old enough to enter into a binding contract. Opening a cardboard or plastic package and punching some buttons on a microwave are not cooking. Cooking is not rocket science, unless you want to get into molecular gastronomy, and can be as complex or simple as one wants.

I started learning to cook as soon as I was old enough to stir a pot and am always looking to expand my culinary knowledge and abilities. It is something that K. and I share, which is good since we spend at least a couple hours a day in the kitchen together. Eating out usually results in conversation about how much better we could have eaten if we had spent the less money at the grocer's or fishmonger's and cooked ourselves so we rarely eat out any more. Except for raw oysters or sushi; it is not as cost effective or easy to get the variety of sushi grade fish to make our own at home usually and oysters are better if someone else opens them. Take-away is for those rare times when we have a lot going on in a day and do not have time to take a pause for cooking. We stopped ordering in Chinese food when it became nigh impossible to get decent shrimp toast so we learned to make our favorite dishes ourselves.

CJC
04-11-2014, 06:39 PM
I make a wicked grilled cheese. I can also cook corned beef hash. Both involve a hot plate.

So essentially, I am a hot plate chef.

rock_nog
04-11-2014, 07:12 PM