PDA

View Full Version : Blockbuster Video Closing

mrz84
11-10-2013, 06:45 PM
http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/the-switch/wp/2013/11/10/this-reader-isnt-going-to-miss-blockbuster/

The first article I found searching with google on it after hearing from my mom that our local store will be closing soon after a liquidation sale this month.

Personally, I have had more pleasant experiences with them than some of the readers in this article and its comment section. But that's just my personaly experience.

I mostly blame stuff like Netflix, Hulu, etc for this, but I like the former for a flat montly fee to watch whatever you want (that they have) and I have no experience with the latter so I'll say nothing of them.

What do you all think? Will you miss BV? No? Opinions on the matter?

[edit-o-vision] found this: http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304448204579185702090813172

Apparently some privately owned stores (about 50 of them) will be staying open (read the article for details on where exactly)

Aliem
11-10-2013, 08:24 PM
Honestly, until just a few weeks ago, I thought this had already happened.

I haven't rented a physical copy of a movie in I think a little over 4 years. Redbox is nice for new releases I guess, but I usually just use Netflix.

Funny thing is, didn't Blockbuster turned down the opportunity to buy Netflix ages ago?

erm2003
11-11-2013, 10:13 AM
Blockbuster did lose the opportunity to move into the next century by turning down the offer to buy Netflix. If you Google it there were talks over 5-6 years ago about the possibility of a buyout or merger. They didn't see the writing on the walls and their main business practice just got outdated. They tried to do the monthly subscription plans, but you still can't beat streaming when the higher internet speeds we can now get at home.