PDA

View Full Version : FMOD Sound



Gleeok
12-23-2012, 06:18 PM
FMOD is great so far, and allows for a shit ton of different audio formats including wav, mp3, midi, etc.. so I have this by default. :) However I ran into an interesting problem:

Sound handles spawn channel handles when played. This is great because it allows 'virtual channels" which means that SFX can be spawned multiple times without having to be reset each time! (one of the things I always hated) But it means that if the sound is played again before the first sound is finished then we lose the channel handle to the first. One solution would be to keep a list of all channels spawned by sound handles, though this quickly makes swiss cheese out of the code... I might of missed something in the documentation though as I am not that familiar with the FMOD API beyond 'normal use'. Anyone familiar with FMOD?

Jacelkat
09-05-2020, 03:16 PM
I have the same question...

kennystone
09-17-2020, 03:27 AM
I have the same question...

Great comment:P

bobbyrfletcher
11-17-2020, 12:58 AM
Have never used FMOD but after reading your post I'll think about using it in the future. Thanks.

kennystone
11-23-2020, 04:29 AM
Although the author of the topic has been asking a question for a long time, now fmod has much better support. A lot of educational material and examples of use.