PDA

View Full Version : Hi guys. so uh, I'm a band. Any tips?

punkonjunk1024
01-25-2010, 09:20 AM
Apparently, I've been unbanned. At least, seemingly.
I appreciate it to whoever or whatever is responsible.

So uh. Since I was like a kid, I wanted to do this band thing. First of course, it was all punk rawk. As my tastes evolved, so did my fantasies. Finally, my roommates wanted to start a band, and I was all like I'll write and frontman, lols, and uh... well that sat around and got talked about for a year.

So now I'm teaching myself piano and theremin. And I'm composing music. I'm about 70% to a completed track, then mastering, then demo city. I'd say about 2 months out from an EP. Short album? Music is new to me. I'm seriously... untrained.
I'm taking some photos for the cover art soon. The title of the album is "mala fides"
Oh, and the band is "Hecatonchires"
So uh, yeah. I'm posting about it NOW because I'd love some input SOON when I have a demo mastered and up. And this is definately about the harshest community i'm a part of on the internet, and although I'm sure I'll get a lot of stock negative comments, I'd likely get more true criticism here than anywhere else.

The genre is basically noise rock sans guitars, so far. Influences on the sound would most prominently be the paper chase, followed by things along the lines of the chinese stars, 31knots and brainiac.

My current questions are this:
I'm not familiar with recording much at all. So far I'm using mixcraft 4, and I'm doing somewhat simple loop based stuff, grabbing one or two measures at a time that sound nice and looping them, except of course for vocals and the actual like, piano melody. So the things I need are additional instrument definitions (I believe it uses VSTi's, but I'm somewhat underread so far)