PDA

View Full Version : Hi, im new to ZC

Gamebones
10-11-2008, 01:04 AM
Hey everyone, i just discovered ZC, and thought it looked like alot of fun. Iv messed around with different game creators over the years. (rpgmaker, mugen, Fightermaker, ect.) and the idea of being able to create my own zelda quests is just too cool to ignore.

Well i downloaded ZC and ran into a problem right away. and please forgive me if this question has been asked before, but i looked around the forum to try to find an answer but havent found one, and im desperate to get started on learning the ropes of the program so i can make my own zelda adventures.

Anyhoo, i downloaded, Zelda Classic v2.10 - Windows Version, and installed it, but when i try to run the program, it just crashes right away. My operating system is WinXP pro, with SP3 installed. I tried running the exe in Win98 compatiblility mode, but that didnt seem to do the trick, and i downloaded the Support Archive for 2.10 - Windows, and tried that but that didnt do it either.

So if any of you ZC experts could help me get this cool little program running so i can get started i would be really gratefull. This is probably more information than you care to know, but i was recently diagnosed with 3 brain tumors, so im currently sitting at home with not a thing to do, and the idea of creating my own zelda adventures would be a wonderfull way to pass the time..

I appreciate any help and advice you can give me.

Thanks for your time. :)

Gamebones
10-11-2008, 07:50 AM
Ok i found out that it will run in windowed mode, which is fine for me. So im gonna start hunting down tutorials so i can learn how to use the editor, which looks pretty complicated..

s2dve
10-11-2008, 09:26 AM
If your wanting to learn the basics, there are some tutorials on Youtube that are very helpful. They are made in the 1.92 version using the classic tile set.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Zquest+tutorials&search_type=&aq=f

Gamebones