PDA

View Full Version : help with midi please!!!

octavio
06-28-2008, 02:13 PM
i'm a newbie at this and i don't really know how to have music playing in your game, can some one help. i've read several tutorials and i still haven't found anything on midis. can someone please tell me where to save midi music to in order to use them in z quest. every time i want to download a song it asks me what to open with but i don't know what to use. can someone please help!!

Pineconn
06-28-2008, 02:23 PM
You should put the MIDI into your Zelda Classic folder. In most cases, you'll find it in the Program Files folder in the C drive (in My Computer). Take the MIDI and drag it (or cut-paste it) into the ZC folder. Then, in ZQuest, go Quest -> MIDIs*, select an empty MIDI number, and click [Edit]. Click [Load] and find the MIDI (hopefully you are already looking in the ZC folder, in which case you'll be able to find it in a snap). Select the MIDI and hit [OK]. You can then tinker with the volume and other MIDI properties.

*Note: In ZC 2.5, you must go Quest -> Music -> MIDIs in order to access the MIDI Specs window.

octavio
06-28-2008, 02:51 PM
i have mozilla firefox whenever i download some thing it asks me what to open with. it doesn't give me the option of copying and pasting. i tried to do what you recommended but then it tells me to give the file location. i have no idea what i am doing here.

Pineconn
06-28-2008, 03:06 PM
Oh, so you haven't downloaded the MIDI yet? Open it up with, say, Windows Media Player. Then just go File -> Save As and save it into the ZC folder.

octavio
06-28-2008, 05:06 PM