PDA

View Full Version : String frames/borders...and transparency?

ScaryBinary
06-21-2008, 04:29 PM
...I guess I'm still a noob...:rolleyes:

The borders I've selected for certain strings have some transparent pixels. But when the string is displayed in the quest, these pixels aren't transparent...they're either black or that nasty purple color, depending on what CSet I've used for the borders.

I also thought I saw some quests where the area inside the border was translucent...it "darkened" the combos under the text. I can't figure that out either.

...help!

(I'm using build 819, if that makes any difference. And OMG I love that new gigantic tile editor....)

bobrocks95
06-21-2008, 06:58 PM
I believe this was achieved(after taking a look at Link to the Heavens) by putting combos you want to use for the border as a simple layer for the screen, marked as translucent.

Gleeok
06-21-2008, 07:16 PM
Yeah, if you want an example screen set up there's one in the DoR tileset I know for sure.

But!! This is the future of 2.10. We don't need no stinking combos and layers!

We need a better way. ;)

First make in your tile pages the graphics you want. These can be simple or very elaborate, 8-bit or 4. Now you want to make an ffc frame script with drawtile....which as it turns out can be the message player as well.
If you want an example of things to with scripts like this, and the drawtile guy as well, check out Grikarugun. It really is way ahead of it's time. The whole easy mode thing is so *hopefully* anyone using zc can see the whole thing and get ideas from it.

Joe123
06-21-2008, 07:47 PM
If you use 8-bit mode, you can achieve transparency on message borders.
You can't, however, have translucency at present I'm afraid.

Gleeok
06-21-2008, 08:14 PM
You can't, however, have translucency at present I'm afraid.

What does that mean?

Works fine for me.

Joe123
06-21-2008, 08:16 PM
I have no idea what you're on about?