PDA

View Full Version : ZC Source Code

Chitation
11-25-2007, 08:39 PM
Hi. I'm new to ZC and am pretty experienced with programming and I was just wondering if there is any way to view all the source code for the game so I can edit it. Thanks!!

DarkDragon
11-25-2007, 08:43 PM
Nope. ZC is closed source.

Russ
11-25-2007, 09:00 PM
Although there is scripting. Scripting uses the programming language C, and lets you write your own programming codes for your quest. You should check it out.

Revfan9
11-25-2007, 10:25 PM
There was an open source variant of ZC a while back, but it died off. You might be able to find it if you spend enough hours making sweet love to google.

And Quest scripts aren't coded in C. They're coded in a very much raped version of C that only allows you to use certain functions and only allows modification of already built-in mechanics...

In essence, there's a lot you can't do in quest scripts and most of what you can do isn't worth the effort.

DarkDragon
11-25-2007, 10:34 PM
I was able to write a 3D ray casting engine entirely within ZC, so I wouldn't say scripting is entirely useless ;)

C-Dawg
11-25-2007, 10:44 PM
You can do pretty much whatever you want with scripts. For everything you can't do directly, you can do a work-around and pull off the effect anyway.

The nay-sayers just don't bother to learn the engine and Zscript in enough depth.

Chitation
11-25-2007, 10:58 PM
How do I use scripts? Is there a certain program I need in order to make them like Visual Studio because I have that but I'm not sure what I have to do to make scripts and put them into ZC.

Russ
11-25-2007, 11:19 PM
First, you type the script on notepad. Then you save it a a .z file type. Then, you get one of the 2.11 alpha builds. Then you import the script.

Nicholas Steel
11-26-2007, 01:02 AM
First, you type the script on notepad. Then you save it as a .z file type. Then, you get one of the 2.11 alpha builds. Then you import the script.