PDA

View Full Version : A better rotating FFC Script.

bigjoe
08-24-2007, 08:48 PM
I have a quest thats pretty much complete, which will be released whenever 2.5 comes out. It uses an old Z-ASM script by _L_ in order to create rotating fireballs.

Does anyone have or can anyone make a better FFC rotation system? I would like it to do the following.

1.Be able to rotate clockwise or counterclockwise.
2.Rotate at different speeds.

ShadowMancer
08-24-2007, 10:04 PM
Clockwise / counterclockwise should just be a matter of changeing a varible either - or + (Cosine if i remeber right..) as for speed that is kind of limited because of the way the circle is executed (I'm not a math expert, but I saw this explaned before if only I could find the thread again it had TONS of usefull info about programming movement, it was either AGN, Pure, of ZCU that I seen it but don't remember) Anyway I will think about this problem and see if I can think of another way to make a rotation besides the the standard programmers trick with sin and cos.

C-Dawg
08-25-2007, 12:31 AM
Parametric equation for a circle:

x = sin(n);
y = cos(n);

And you just increment n every time. If you want the dealie to move faster around the circle, you make n get bigger faster. Which you can do either by incrementing n a greater amount each time, or doing this:

x = sin(2*n);
y = cos(2*n);

If you want a bigger circle than the unit circle, you do this:

x = 2*sin(n);
y = 2*cos(n);

And if you want the circle off center (so it's not centered at 0,0), you do this:

x = 2+sin(n);
y = 2+cos(n);

Got it?

ShadowMancer
08-25-2007, 07:12 PM
Thanks C-Dawg, I am going to use these myself, Like I said not very good at math. Mostly I just look up info, although lately I have been compileing a list of useful math for programming. I do have one question, (not exactly releated to this thread sorry) but do you know the equation I would need for a bounce/reflect effect (Im looking for pong but it vanished)

DarkDragon