PDA

View Full Version : I may have a solution to our delima!



Dlbrooks33
08-02-2006, 11:31 PM
if the functions and arguments in game maker (GM6) are compatible with allegro, we may be able to add an item we all wanted, or even more!

Roc's Feather
if !jumping and moveable and item=1 and !swimming
{
jumping=1;moveable=0;
sound_play(Jump)
switch (sprite_index) {
case sprLinkD: image_index=0; break;
case sprLinkU: image_index=0; break;
case sprLinkL: image_index=0; break;
case sprLinkR: image_index=0; break;
}
switch (sprite_index) {
case sprLinkD: sprite_index=sprLinkJumpD; break;
case sprLinkU: sprite_index=sprLinkJumpU; break;
case sprLinkL: sprite_index=sprLinkJumpL; break;
case sprLinkR: sprite_index=sprLinkJumpR; break;
}
}

Lifting
if instance_exists(holding_pot) {
(holding_pot).alarm[0]=10
(holding_pot).speed=4+((global.facing!="U")*2) //Slow it down if it's going up, for the 2.5-D effect
sound_play(Throw)
switch global.facing {
case "D": sprite_index=sprLinkThrowD; (holding_pot).direction=270; break;
case "U": sprite_index=sprLinkThrowU; (holding_pot).direction=90; break;
case "L": sprite_index=sprLinkThrowL; (holding_pot).direction=180; break;
case "R": sprite_index=sprLinkThrowR; (holding_pot).direction=0; break;
}
holding_pot=99999
image_index=0
}
else
{
var inst;
//What's in front of us?
switch global.facing { //Change the 10 to a different number to set how far away the object can be to pick up
case "D": inst=instance_place(x,y+10,objPickupParent) break;
case "U": inst=instance_place(x,y-10,objPickupParent) break;
case "L": inst=instance_place(x-10,y,objPickupParent) break;
case "R": inst=instance_place(x+10,y,objPickupParent) break;
}
if instance_exists(inst) { // If it's there, pick it up
holding_pot=inst
sound_play(Lift)
switch global.facing {
case "D": sprite_index=sprLinkLiftD; break;
case "U": sprite_index=sprLinkLiftU; break;
case "L": sprite_index=sprLinkLiftL; break;
case "R": sprite_index=sprLinkLiftR; break;
}
}
}

hopefully it is compatible.

DarkDragon
08-03-2006, 01:07 AM
Unfortunately GameMaker is *nothing* like Allegro. :(

koopa
08-03-2006, 12:46 PM
Please read this thread before asking about Roc's feather (http://www.armageddongames.net/showthread.php?t=92557)

Thank you.

And no, allegro and GME are not the same thing at all.