PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions ... please be kind ....

unclet
06-26-2006, 10:13 AM
As a newbie, I read the following post, but I am still having trouble:

"How to set the quest directory and choose custom quests - ZC 1.90 and above"

After I select the "1st.qst" file and select OK, then I get the following error:

"Error: Unable to open file"

The 1st.qst file does exist in the ZeldaClassic install directory.

Questions:

1) Why cant I start the "1st.qst" quest?

2) I noticed there are "2nd.qst" and 3rd.qst" files as well. I would assume these are simply additional games in the series ... correct..... or are they related somehow and need to be loaded during gameplay somehow.... curious.

3) I am assuming "zelda-w.exe" allows me to play games by opening QST files while "zquest-w.exe" allows me to create my own quests .... is this correct?

4) Can "zelda-w.exe" load a QST from the command line?

5) When I double-click on "zquest-w.exe" then I get the following error in a pop-up window ... why?

"Loading Quest...."
"Decrypting ... error"
"--- press a key ---"

Regards,
UncleT

Pineconn
06-26-2006, 10:56 AM
1) That's some bug that has existed for a while... Don't really worry about it. If you want to play the 1st.qst, simply create a file name in ZC and begin it.

2) To play the 2nd.qst, create a name of "Zelda" and start it. To play the 3rd.qst, create a name of "Alpha" and start it. Make sure that your A and B buttons aren't any of those letters (the most common is typing in the "Z" in Zelda).

3) Completely correct.

4) Don't know anout this one.

5) Don't worry about that, either. I'm not entirely sure on why that happens, maybe your last opened quest was passworded, you typed in a password, and it was wrong. But after you get that message, you should be able to open a quest and work on it.

unclet
06-26-2006, 11:12 AM
1) If you want to play the 1st.qst, simply create a file name in ZC and begin it.