PDA

View Full Version : MMORPG Character Styles?

ShadowTiger
05-11-2006, 12:47 PM
So I'm just getting into the MMORPG scene, apparently. (The FREE one, mind you.) I'm still deciding whether I should be a hack and slash character or an "On the sidelines" character.

I tend to be one of those friendly players that greets you as you pass. I also tend to be a loner, oddly enough, I tend to really stick to the role I'm playing. (Why else play an MMORPG?) I'd either be extremely outgoing and active, or just want to wander off on my own and kill things to level up. Either way, I'd probably want to be levelling up though.

So, now I'm thinking, should I be a fighter class? They usually do pretty well on their own. Thing is, they're far too common. What about a supplementary character though? Lots of parties need people like healers or thieves or mages to do things the fighters can't. You could always try to be a unique class; one rarely chosen, just so people would want to hire you to be in their party. That could be interesting. > >. Of course, that may not be what you wanted. :shrug:

So now I'm considering being a blacksmith, but not a fighting one. Someone who'd sit on the sidelines and make a pretty penny by manufacturing goods. A merchant, possibly. It'd be a relatively low adventure scene, and it'd be pretty pathetic to be begging for customers, or to just stand in one place all day. :sweat: However, it would be rather unique. Isn't that what people would love to try now and then?

Archibaldo
05-11-2006, 05:09 PM
Well, in my experience with RPGs and MMOs, I would say a healer is always a good class to have. Especially in WoW. If you're a priest people will beg you to join them. Or if your like me, evil, chose something like a warlock/necromancer they usually deal with killing by diseases and afflictions. But yeah, support classes are very valuable in MMOs.

BTW, which MMO are you getting into?

Grasshopper
05-11-2006, 09:47 PM