PDA

View Full Version : Nintendo DS: Is it worth it?

idontknow
04-13-2006, 08:58 PM
I am a college student thinkin' about buying myself a nintendo DS and Mario Kart DS with some of the $ i got from my 20th B-day. I am just wondering if the DS is worth getting. What are some great games for it?

Also, does it come ready for WiFi connection right out of the box? Or do you need to buy extra accesories or programs to run it? Additionally, do you need to pay a monthly fee to use it (like X-Box Live)?

And finally, can you hook up a nintendo DS to your TV so you could see it projected onto a big screen? It'd be cool if you could do that or actually hook up a DS to a gamecube & then have 4 people play a DS game using gamecube controllers.

Anyway, any suggestions & explanations would help a lot and be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

goKi
04-13-2006, 09:10 PM
Definately worth getting. Wi-Fi is completely free, you need a wireless access point that is either unsecure, or WEP enabled (WPA is unsupported, unfortunately).

No i don't know of any peripheral that hooks the DS to a tv, which is a shame.

As for suggestions, if you are a Tetris fan, i highly suggest Tetris DS as an immediate purchase.

vegeta1215
04-13-2006, 09:44 PM
I'm with goKi on this one - the DS is definitely worth getting. I held out getting a DS cause there weren't any games I was interested in playing, but the release of Mario Kart solved that problem. Here are the games I have to date:

Lost in Blue
Mario Kart: DS
Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time
Metroid Prime: Hunters
Tetris DS
Trace Memory

There are also a lot of other games I'm looking forward to which are currently in development.

idontknow
04-13-2006, 11:51 PM
What's a secured wireless access point? What does WEP supported mean?