PDA

View Full Version : The AtmaWeapon FF3 challenge {**spoilers**}

AtmaWeapon
12-06-2005, 04:34 PM
So I started playing another FF3 game the other day. I've been wanting to for a while but just couldn't bring myself to do it for some reason. So, I decided to go for a challenge.

First I considered the Natural Magic Challenge, where the only magic you can use is the magic learned naturally by Terra and Celes as they level. This seemed a little to restrictive to me since you are not allowed to use espers for stat boosts or even equipment that taught spells, so I decided to make my own challenge to try and eliminate the things I thought ruined the game.

See, my normal strategy in FF3 is as follows:
At South Figaro I powerlevel like a faggot. I do that until the enemies are pushovers. Sometimes Sabin knows Fire Dance when he first joins the party; that should show you how serious I mean powerleveling. The next powerlevel stop is at Vector, where I do not stop until every character in my party (typically Edgar, Sabin, Cyan, Locke for the owie factor) knows every available spell. After Magitek Research Facility, I repeat the process.

AtmaWeapon falls to Rasp, floating continent is a pushover due to my advanced levels. Some people beat the game at level 40 or so, I don't hit WoR until 35 minimum. I spend the first half of the WoR wishing I had leveled Celes in WoB. Once I get the Falcon, it is a mad dash to gain Ultima ASAP. Once a character learns Ultima, I pump their Magic Attack until Ultima does 9999. Next, I get Bahamut for the 50% HP boost. Once two 9999 casters exist, it is off to Jurassic Park to kick some Tyrannosaur tail. Once a single character can survive Meteo, that character gets an Exp. Egg and fights alone. The goal is to reach 9999 HP and get a few economizers from the brachosaurs.

Next I get a Gem Box.

My strategy at this point in the game is simple:
if (I am dying)
Cast Cure3
Cast Ultima
else
Cast Ultima
Cast Ultima