PDA

View Full Version : Other 8-bit classics?

dandruff man
07-29-2005, 03:02 AM
Hello, i am new to this zelda classic, and although i am thrilled at this, it is just zelda all of the time (absolutley nothing wrong with zelda!:laughing . i was wondering if there was a way that other 8-bit games could be altered. Like a 2D side scrolling game. Maybe a castlevania classic? Or even a more in depth 8-bit game, like say a final fantasy classic or a dragon warrior classic? Maybe even for you old skool gamers like me. (regular nes) Games that most people dont know of unless you grew up with reg. nintendo like "monster party" classic, or a "boy and his blob" classic?

I know tiles can be found to make any game a "zelda" game like those cool mega man, metroid and mario ports into a zelda version, but is there a way to remake classic games just as the people from this site made for zelda? my computer skills arent the best, so i was just wondering what you all thought, and if this is possible

Beldaran
07-29-2005, 03:14 AM
No. All computers on earth are incompatible with any form of 8-bit game except Zelda. Zelda is special because it comes from god.

Also, posting the same topic in multiple forums is considered bad form around here.;)

To answer your question non-sarcastically, yes it's possible to make a recreation of any older game on the PC. All it requires is someone with advanced programming skills, nothing to do, and the willingness to put a lot of work into something for free. Zelda Classic was programmed from scratch by a couple of programmers doing it for fun. It was a lot of work (er...it still IS a lot of work. heh.) and is not a task easily taken to. There are a thousand other projects just like Zelda Classic that are "in development" and it is likely that they will always be "in development" because it is human nature to start hugely ambitious projects and then abandon them once it becomes apparent that it is difficult and time consuming.