PDA

View Full Version : Armor Anyone?

SixTen
06-14-2005, 01:07 AM
So recently I've been getting into making medieval armor. Now I've been making chainmail for maybe 8 months, but recently I've been having an interest in making plate armor, which isn't nearly as tedious because it just comes together better. That is, while it may take longer to make each plate and rivet it to other plates to complete a full suit, it is less mind numbing than assembling 12,000 rings of a full shirt one at a time.

My first attempts at making armor beyond chainmail was with leather scale armor, which failed miserably. Firstly because good leather is expensive, then you have to boil and shape it while it dries and hardens.

Sheet steel costs considerably less, if you can find it. It requires more tools, tools that I don't necessarily have. But from what I have messed around with I think I can manage.

I guess this post doesn't really have a point other than to tell you what I've been doing for the past several months. I'm sick of not having anyone to talk to about this stuff as none of my friends seem to show the same interest as I do.

Here are some pictures of me posing in my chainmail for a film my friends and I made. Keep in mind this is just the character, so disregard the satin shirt and hte sunglasses.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v101/sixten04/118405439_l.jpg

This one's a little distorted for some reason, I don't know why.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v101/sixten04/mandrake44.gif

Whatev, whatev, I don't care what you think. That's me, that's 100% hand made, even the rings I made myself so you posers who would laugh at me can go screw yourselves.

Orion
06-14-2005, 01:29 AM
I love chainmail. I got it when my fiancee and I started learning swordfighting (she is much better at it since she does it for performing). I'd really like to learn how to make it myself, but I don't know if I have that kind of patience.

theplustwo
06-14-2005, 01:48 AM