PDA

View Full Version : Using .NET in programming.

Deviance
04-13-2005, 09:01 PM
Has anyone tried using it yet. I want to know if it would be good or not to be used for.

Ganonator
04-13-2005, 09:10 PM
Absolute best interface ever. I've been using it for about 2 years, and although there are a few issues with Intellisense, it builds faster, supports more features, and is made by everybody's favorite company, Microsoft (= product support).

Do it!

Cloral
04-13-2005, 09:18 PM
We use it at work. So it is something that is used and would be useful to know. But use C++, not C# or VB - C++ is still the industry standard, and there are no signs that this will change anytime soon.

AtmaWeapon
04-13-2005, 09:43 PM
If you are planning on writing Windows programs at all, your career options will be minimal at best within 5 years if you don't use .NET.

.NET is excellent for all the little things I used to write Perl scripts and C++ snippets for, because I can slap a UI on it in no time.

However, it helps to consider what you are trying to do. .NET in its current incarnation (and probably until Longhorn) is primarily targetting business applications, and a lot more work has gone into the ASP side than the Windows Forms side (MS had this grand vision where everyone ran apps through IE over the internet. Yeah, whatever.)

The most popular .NET languages (C# and VB) are NOT good for most gaming tasks, though (neither is VB6). GDI+ just isn't made to push pixels like DirectX can. Of course, DirectX 9 is fully managed and you can use C# and VB .NET with it, but really and truly C++ rocks the gaming world.

(On that note: Cloral, you might want to specify just what industry you are speaking of when you say "industry standard". In my neck of the industry, VB .NET and RPG are the only languages people look for ;))