PDA

View Full Version : How to learn C from a C++ background?

AtmaWeapon
01-09-2005, 03:23 PM
How's this for a topic with a limited audience? I've been picking up game programming books over the past couple of weeks, and they all work with C instead of C++. Now, I'm not nearly as experienced with C++ as I should be, but I know enough to read anothers' code and understand what's going on in most cases. I'm not having any real problems reading the code and figuring functions like printf() out, but I know that C is structured while C++ is Object-Oriented.

I've been doing Object-Oriented work for the past 4 years, and really the only structured programming I've done was stupid projects in Turbo Pascal. That was way back in the "OMZ I'M PROGRAMMING" phase and I didn't really understand what I was doing.. Any serious work I've done has been in VB .NET. It took all of those 4 years for me to fully understand just what programming in an Object-Oriented style means, and here I am wanting to work with a structured language again :D. As I said, what's going to trip me up is not so much a syntax switch but a paradigm switch.

So what's a recommended book(s) for an intermediate programmer to get the most out of C? I'm sure there's plenty of valuable web sites out there, but I really dislike reading books online. There's something I like about a book as compared to an online source, I think I just like to see my bookshelf overflow more and more :).

vegeta1215
01-09-2005, 07:50 PM
I know how you feel. I prefer reading books in hand as opposed to online also. I'm sorry to say that I can't recommend a book though, cause I started with C++ like you did, and thats what most of my books are about.

This is a pretty handy C reference site though. (reference) http://www-ccs.ucsd.edu/c/

Lutraphobiac
01-09-2005, 09:38 PM
I have the C for dummies books, but I wouldn't reccomend them. My engineering textbook has a C section, but I can't give you that.