PDA

View Full Version : How would i go about...

idontknow
12-12-2004, 05:45 PM
...working for a videogame company (such as chamelot or hudson)? I would want to be part of the crew that writes/submits ideas--i guess part of the design board maybe? First of all, i am only a freshman in college, but i'm trying to decide on a major and i just wanna know how reasonable it is do such a thing and what major i would need.

Gerudo
12-12-2004, 05:47 PM
you're asking us? o.O

if you are interested in something like that, i would try to see if they have websites available, and poke around for a 'contact us' link or something...

Rainman
12-12-2004, 05:54 PM
Just gain all the experience necessary to work on video games. If you want to program than your going to have to spend a lot of time becoming a really good programmer. I'm not sure how you get into game design, but I'm sure it not all that unusual of a process. Applying to game companies is like any other job. You just have to have the abilities needed. The only thing that difficult about getting into the industry is that their are limited position for a shit load of people who want to them. Companies have pages on their websites usually on whether they list what position are opened and fairly specific information on what they want you to know.

Here's an example:
http://bungie.com/Inside/Page.aspx?section=Jobs&subsection=Main&page=1

Jigglysaint
12-12-2004, 06:55 PM
I think the ability to read and write in japaneese is a requisite.

idontknow
12-12-2004, 08:57 PM
I think the ability to read and write in japaneese is a requisite

Umm...are u serious or is that a joke?

King Link
12-12-2004, 11:19 PM
Game development is a difficult industry to get into. I don't know first hand, but I know several ways to get into it.