PDA

View Full Version : Event triggers?

Nwart
10-27-2004, 01:48 PM
Hi, I'm a beginner with zquest and I'd like to understand how the events work...
For example, is it possible to have a NPC talk when Link enters his screen, without using a regular "screen 80" cave?
I tried to change the tile warp property to be warped to another screen but it always sends to 80.
Or is there a way to trigger the dialog after a simple side warp? For example, in original Z1 dungeons, there are old men that give hints when you enter their room...

Sephiroth
10-27-2004, 07:45 PM
Yes, You can place them on a seperate DMap and warp to them. :) You must make the level# of the dmap greater than 0. =D

Nwart
10-28-2004, 02:06 AM
Thanks, Snort, it worked :) .

Freelancer
11-03-2004, 08:24 PM
Your troubles reminde me of a friend of mine. He had even more troubles than you (lol). It is really embarassing how I teach him lessons while he just sits there going "did you say something?"
Also he would go try the same thing and of course he would do it wrong. I even wrote him a tutorial! (spell check?) But he still does not understand. One more thing you should know that you cannot start off with a perfect quest. It is impossible I made 20 quests and my newer quests still are not that great. (others are better though like my original ZQ series with the BS tileset) Dont worry I could help you with any other problem you have. (if you have one) How do you delete this reply anyway?

Ganonator
11-03-2004, 08:56 PM
I have a forum if you want and of course you should know that you cannot start off with a perfect quest. Advertising is against the rules. Consider yourself warned. If you'd like to invite others to come to your forums, you can PM them, or put a descriptive link in your sig.

PitchFork Rhino
11-04-2004, 07:21 PM