PDA

View Full Version : shield....

Nazgul
10-05-2004, 09:34 PM
hi, i'm new in the Zelda Classic (if i write wrong, it's because i'm from argentina :D)
i wanted to use the shield, but i couldn't use it. is it posible to use it???

thankss

ShadowTiger
10-05-2004, 09:41 PM
In order to use your shield, all you have to do is face the projectile you wish to block, and stand perfectly still. Yep, that's it! ^_^ Heh.

However, if you press either A or B, (Or at least the buttons you have assigned to them, anyway.) while Link is stabbing, or doing whatever action B will do, his shield isn't in front of him, so the attack will hit him anyway. So be careful of that when you're in a bunch of Moblins or Octoroks, stabbing away.

Also, here's a brief list of what the shields can and cannot block.

Normal:
* Rocks from Octoroks
* Spears / Arrows from Moblins

Magic Shield:
* Rocks from Octoroks
* Fireballs from Zolas
* Magic from Wizrobes and Octoroks on Crack.
* Swords from Stalfos 2, Stalfos 3, Lynels, and Death Knights. (MAYBE!)

Mirror Shield:
* Rocks from Octoroks
* Fireballs from Zolas (REFLECTS THESE AT AN ANGLE!)
* Magic from Wizrobes and Octoroks on Crack. (REFLECTS THESE AT A 180 DEGREE ANGLE!) ...
(Assuming a 180 degree angle means that it reflects back at the enemy, .. then.. yes. :p)
* Swords from Stalfos 2, Stalfos 3, Lynels, and Death Knights.

I'm actually not that sure about the boomerangs from Goriyas. I think no shield can block a boomerang thrown at you, but the magic or mirror shield(s) may be able to do it. I'm really, really not sure though. I think they don't, because I seem to hate those enemies more than others. :p

*b*
10-05-2004, 09:42 PM
the shield is always used. just face the object that's coming at you, and if you have a high-level shield, it will deflect it automatically

er, BH4 beat me to it