PDA

View Full Version : Can someone share "how to make good custom tiles"?

idontknow
07-20-2004, 05:49 PM
I just dont know how to make good tiles--i can't even fathom how anyone can just create sprites (such as for link) out of nowhere--i want to make my own but how does one design tiles that look good? It is very difficult for me to do so because of the graphics & yet many of the tilesets look really good.

Freedom
07-20-2004, 08:11 PM
I'm a poor poor artist IDK, but some of my sprites have come out ok.
What I do is start with an existing sprite and continue to change it until it looks like what I had invisioned.
sometimes it takes me hours to get one little sprite the way I want it.
sometimes I just settle for what I've got and move on.

The way I look at it if someone wants to critisize my sprites they are more then welcome to draw me some better.

Radien ZC
08-10-2004, 11:25 PM
The difference between making character sprites and customizing "setting" tiles is quite great. If you would like to simply alter existing Link tiles, Freedom's method is the best bet. There really isn't much else to say if you're just going to tweak Link tiles.

However, if you would like to try your hand at creating character sprites from scratch, here's what I recommend:

1. Look for sprites with a style you like, and study them. For 16x16 sprites, every pixel is important. And since they're so small, some layouts are used quite frequently. In particular, pay attention to exactly where the eyes are placed, the outline of the face, the length of the arms, and the size of the head.

2. I say "from scratch," but nobody's going to fault you for using a ripped sprite as your "skeleton" if you're going to edit it so much that there's no recognizable connection.