PDA

View Full Version : UT linux help

Masamune
07-12-2004, 07:50 PM
So, I feel like getting out my old copy of Unreal Tournament and I realize I'm running linux until I can come up with a more suitable OS. I downloaded the thing it tells me, (ut-install-436.run). Now, what do I do with it? Sorry I'm a real linux newb. ^_^ I'm using mandrake 8.2 if that helps. =D

Rainman
07-12-2004, 10:41 PM
You could always install Windows. :P

vegeta1215
07-13-2004, 01:14 AM
Mandrake 8.2? Ooh...I'd recommend upgrading if you can. I had Mandrake 8.1 for almost two years, and upgrading to Mandrake 9.2 was a huge improvement. More up to date apps, newer and faster kernel, better Mandrake utilities, etc.

The file you have is most likely an executable. You might be able to open up a file manager like Konqueror (from KDE) and click on the file to launch it, but you can surely launch it via the command line. Open a terminal and cd to the directory containing ut-install-436.run, and type './ut-install-436.run'.

It should run if the file has executable permissions (I'm not sure whether you have to be root or not to install the program) Also, I'm not sure whether you need OpenGL acceleration from your video card to run the game (like what you get from NVIDIA's drivers) Really, some more info would help ;)

btw, I highly recommend checking out Mandrake's Starter and Command-line guides. I used them when I started out with Linux, and I found them to be easy to follow and very handy. http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/fdoc.php3

AlexMax
07-13-2004, 02:44 AM
You could always install Windows. :P

INSTALL WINDOWS PROBLEM SOLVED LOLOLL THIS GUY IS A COMIC GENIUS RIGHT HERE!1111

Yeah, it sounds like you have an executable. Just run it from the console (put a "./" in front of it first)