PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP support Zelda?



michael9824
01-20-2004, 03:34 PM
Well?

*b*
01-20-2004, 03:45 PM
try saying something more than one work, ok? but anyway, to answer your question, yes. I think DN's now focusing on making ZC more XP friendly

also, don't use polls, just ask the question

Raichu86
01-20-2004, 04:46 PM
I use Zelda Classic in Windows XP all the time...

Banedon
01-20-2004, 04:55 PM
I have XP and 1.92 works fine, although 1.90 doesn't play music (only sound effects) and I can't use my gamepad in 1.90.

Cloral
01-20-2004, 04:56 PM
Just make sure you get the windows version and you'll be fine. If it looks wrong when you run it though, just add the -windowed tag to your shortcut to make it run windowed, which should make it look right.

redmage777
01-20-2004, 05:41 PM
I use Win XP, and it works fine... I did exprience the same problems that were mentioned by Banedon with 1.90... But 1.90 Is more or less in the past so it does not effect future Releaces.

Banedon
01-20-2004, 06:40 PM
I didn't know there was a Windows version of 1.90...

*b*
01-20-2004, 07:03 PM
there isn't. 1.90 was DOS only

Qun Mang
01-20-2004, 09:04 PM
Lucky people. I never got 1.90 to work with XP at all, music or no.

Exdeath
02-08-2004, 03:23 PM
I've had good luck with all versions of Zelda Classic (both DOS and Windows).
The windows version works fine without any special configuration.

The DOS version was a little trickier since XP has only a DOS emulator and not pure DOS.
I have a Sound Blaster Live and got Zelda to work with full sound and MIDI support with the following settings.

For Digital Driver, I chose Sound Blaster 2.0.
For MIDI, I chose MPU-401.

The only way to get gamepad support for the DOS version under XP is to use Joy2Key.
One other thing to consider is that since it is only a DOS emulator, Zelda runs a lot slower than it would under Win98, and a lot slower than the Windows version. I have an Athlon XP-2400 and the game is definitely playable, but at times it can be a bit jerkey, and the sound and music has some pops.

DigiPro31279
02-12-2004, 03:27 AM
Once and awhile, my computer will want to shut the program down

I use XP and 1.92 beta 182/183

I will be glad to see an XP friendly version of ZC in the near future. SHould be Version 2.0 by then. LOL

I just got my old Sidewinder Plug and Play controller setup and it worked fine without selecting the controller I wanted in the ZC Setup. XP gets it going right away. I wish I figured this out over the summer when I was playing quests so I didn't have to go crazy using my keyboard on the laptop. YIPE!

~Jay

redmage777
02-12-2004, 09:07 PM
Bear in mind ZQuest and Zelda Classic (At least anything past 1.90) ARE Betas... Errors and bugs are to be expected, No matter what OS you are using. Its not that its nessaraly unfrendly to Win XP.

Jarty
02-12-2004, 09:23 PM
I use 182 beta with XP and it doesn't work that great, though it's probably how my computer is configured. I recently replaced my old computer (P3 633MHz, 192MB RAM), on which it worked fine BTW, for this one (P4 2.06GHz, 512MB RAM), and now I have a lag problem. As far as I can tell, it looks like ZC is trying to use all of my processor at once and then some, and when it reaches the max, the game slows down, and stops for a second or longer (in 183 it just slows down and I lose control of Link). I'm not sure what is making this happen, but XP seems like the most likely culprit.

Blonde799
02-12-2004, 11:02 PM
ZC is truly unstable if it works great before you do a HD wipe on your computer(exactly what happened to me).:p Now, it lags, my cursor doesn't come in right away(in fact, it stays in the same place until I move it, and that can be at the top of my desktop and I would never know it), and link does the moonwalk.:laughing: Not to mention that ZQuest has a 40% chance of crashing if I choose to load a quest.