PDA

View Full Version : N00b Router Question

linkofzelda1
12-08-2003, 09:16 PM
I bought a router to use (a Neatgear), and I set it up, and it works great. I'm also running my server from this router. The only thing is, how do I access that one computer that's behind the firewall? Every computer has an IP address to use within the network, like 192.168.0.1 or something, but how would I do this from some other location? I'm totally lost with routers, since I've never used one like this before. I tried entering my IP adress that I got from http://www.thatismyip.com and nothing happened.

Can anyone help a n00b like me?

Thunderbird
12-08-2003, 09:26 PM
You have a couple choices. Use the DMZ option, which can be done to one computer only, and is a huge security risk (it exposes the computer to the Internet), or forward the port you need to that computer.

Routers are also firewalls in that they don't pass anything through to the computers on the inside unless you explicitly tell them to do so.

cyberkiller6276
12-08-2003, 10:00 PM
When you go to whatsmyip.com it displays the routers IP, not your computers. If you want to find out your comps IP, there is a commmand prompt command for it, but I forget.

Yes, prot forwarding is the easiest way to do. Unfortuneatly, eery router is diiferent. Look in the instruction manual to find out how to port forward.

RTFM dude. j/k :laughing:

Ich
12-09-2003, 12:34 AM
When I need to visit a location on our network, I go to Start -> Run and type in \\liz\downloads\, liz being the designated name for our host computer, and and downloads being the folder I desire access to. It prompts me "Connect as" and has two boxes for User Name and Password. Give it a run.

Ganonator
12-09-2003, 01:57 AM
Originally posted by cyberkiller6276
If you want to find out your comps IP, there is a commmand prompt command for it, but I forget.

go Start -> Run
type Command

the command is IPCONFIG