PDA

View Full Version : Using Downloaded Tiles

Link879
04-17-2003, 11:51 AM
:confuse2: Im new at making quests using ZQuest and that brings me to another question. How exactly do I use downloaded tiles in ZQuest?:confuse2:

plith
04-17-2003, 12:37 PM
If you just have regular .bmp or .gif files, you go to the tilepages (Quest->Graphics->Tiles) and click Grab to grab the tiles from the image files. Note that you would then have to edit those tiles most likely to fit in your palette. If you just want to use a pre-made tileset, you go to File->Import->Graphics Pack and select the .zgp file.

Moving to ZC Quest Editor Help

Link879
04-18-2003, 11:05 AM
How would I get the .bmp or .gif files into ZQuest then?

Verbatim
04-18-2003, 01:46 PM
That's what the first part of plith's post was about:

Originally posted by plith
If you just have regular .bmp or .gif files, you go to the tilepages (Quest->Graphics->Tiles) and click Grab to grab the tiles from the image files. Note that you would then have to edit those tiles most likely to fit in your palette.

If the tiles are made for the palette you're using (for example, if you start out with the Pure palette, and import some tiles that were made to go with the Pure palette) it's a bit easier to re-color them to match.

Or, if you go into the palettes and load the right one to Cset 9, I think you may be able to import tiles that are drawn in that Cset without having to re-color them afterwards. I've never tested that myself, though...I've never actually imported tiles intended for the tileset I was using, so I always re-colored them by hand.

Link879
04-18-2003, 02:00 PM
I understand but Im asking how to load them into ZQuest. Do I use import graphics or something else like that? Also when I downloaded some of the tile sets it had a .qst extension on it... isnt that extension for a quest file:confuse2: how would I use that for the tiles?:confuse2:

Verbatim
04-18-2003, 05:07 PM