PDA

View Full Version : more stupid questions

ryan
03-08-2003, 01:45 AM
:) first thanks to everyone whos answers any of my questions, the tutorial i got with my copy doesnt work correctly, and i got as far as i am now with just testing, so please be patient with some of my questions.

anyway today im working on signs, my character will need to read signs, and i dont want to have a string just appear with him entering a screen, can i do this?

also i just started playing around with warps, when i warp to a different DMAP he doesnt appear, i ve noticed that if i start on a screen with an item on it the item will not appear until i re enter that screen
and finally any suggestions on where i can find some cool tiles

thanks again guys

ryan
03-08-2003, 02:10 AM
also i dont know how to change the colors in the tile edit screen, nothing ever happens when i try to change them

Freedom
03-08-2003, 02:30 AM
press - and + on your number pad to change colors.
as for the signs, you're on your own there, I'd like to know that myself :O)

here's the tutorial
http://www.casadealphadawg.com/zc/zqtutorial/contents.html

Teilyr
03-08-2003, 02:38 AM
Originally posted by ryan
today im working on signs, my character will need to read signs, and i dont want to have a string just appear with him entering a screen, can i do this?
Depends on what you mean. If you're implying that you'd like to have Link walk up to a sign, and there be some text pop up on the screen that he seems to read, then then yes.

Just draw it up in the tile editor.. Then, assign it combos, and layer it onto the screen. As for how the player reads it, well.. It's as simple as a insta tile warp that occurs when you get close to the sign.

Player walks onto the warp, reads sign, then goes on about their business.