PDA

View Full Version : media player/managers and download accelerators

fatcatfan
02-04-2003, 09:02 PM
I've just finished reinstalling Win98SE from scratch. I'm now installing some basic apps and utilities. So far I've got:
WinTidy IrfanView with all plugins KazaaLite PowerArchiver 6.11 (the last freeware version) UltraEdit All Windows and IE Updates, including DirectX8.1 MinGW and MSYS
The only things I would like to add to that list before using Norton Ghost to backup this configuration for future reinstalls are a download accelerator and a media player/organizer. For these, I come wanting opinions. I want something free, yet without ads or spyware. For the media player, I'm considering dbPowerAmp player, but I've never used it before and I'm leery of installing it before ghosting the partition. For download managers... I'm looking at the one from freshdevices.com, but from all the ads and other things they display on their site, I'm a bit suspicious of them. In the end, I may just ghost the drive without these on it...

MottZilla
02-04-2003, 09:05 PM
You might want to make sure you have certain video codecs like DivX too. I don't use Download Accelerators as they are not really all that useful, although GetRight is a nice DL program as it lets you resume.

fatcatfan
02-04-2003, 09:11 PM
This poor PC can't handle DivX. Which is sad when I have a stack of CDs with DivX Farscape eps on them... someday soon I'll have a new PC... right I after I buy a house, furniture, pay off the christmas bills... ;p

As for the download accelerator, they make a significant difference on may cable connection when dl'ing large files. Many servers limit the bandwidth per connection, rather than per IP. So by pulling multiple connections, an accelerator takes full advantage of my bandwidth.

MottZilla
02-04-2003, 09:21 PM
Ah. Good for you, sucks for the poor server. =(

vegeta1215
02-05-2003, 12:08 AM
Mozilla and Opera have pretty cool download managers.