PDA

View Full Version : What's missing from today's gaming experience

Beldaran
07-13-2002, 12:43 PM
Role Playing Games. Granted the PC has a lot of cool role playing titles, but they aren't the same as what I'm talking about.

I am just getting into emulation, and I'm playing all these fantastic SNES RPG's like the 7th Saga series, Lufia series, Breath of Fire series, Final Fantasy (the old cool style like FF5, FF3, FF2), and Secret of Evermore. Why don't they make games like this anymore? I mean, Square still makes final fantasy games, but they are more like an interactive movie. Why don't they make cool RPG's in this style anymore? Everything's gone 3D, and they spend so much effort making these games 3D that they don't bother to make any really good RPG's.

Well, no matter how many boring games with flashy graphics come out, this player will still rely on old games for his RPG experience.

Gerudo
07-13-2002, 01:08 PM
i second that! ive tried 3d RPG's... 80% of them suck.

2d rpg (ala snes) are the best

PLAY CHRONO TRIGGER!!!!!!!111111

slothman
07-13-2002, 01:22 PM
I've heard alot about Chrono Trigger. Is it like the FF series? What system does it come on? What is it like? I do agree about the "interactive movie" quality about today's RPG's I still 2D is the best.

Beldaran
07-13-2002, 01:58 PM
Chrono Trigger is one of my favorite games. It is for the SNES. It is similar to FF3 in many respects, but ENTIRELY different in many others. There aren't random battles, for one thing. I find the story and characters to be more lovable and engrossing than FF games. I LOVE lucca. She's my favorite character. And the soundtrack is out of this world. I have the CD of the soundtrack and I love it. What a fantastic game.

Elemental Knight
07-13-2002, 02:24 PM