PDA

View Full Version : Requeim, Sonnet, Etude?

Dechipher
07-05-2002, 02:06 AM
Ok, yes, I am a musician, but still, everyone needs help.... I'm working on a series of Midis, an dI need help categorizing them...
They are allvery orchestral and stuff...but how do Requeims usually go? and sonnets, etc.
any help is appreciated.

inori
07-05-2002, 02:13 AM
Last I checked, a sonnet was a poem, not a song.

As far as the others, not sure. You could look for definitions in a dictionary or online.

Dechipher
07-05-2002, 02:15 AM
I thought a sonnet could have music too...
I'm looking fo rthe definitions of the songs name's in Oot and MM...

AeroZeplyn
07-05-2002, 03:31 AM
a sonnet is a 14-line poem with 10 syllables per line. the rhyme sequence is abab cdcd efef gg ... a requiem is like silence. orr... "any grand musical composition" ... for honoring people's death. you dont make something that "sounds" like an etude. so basically a song with an iambic pentameter rhythm would have a rhythm going down...up...down...up...or starting up...down...blah.... kind of like the ballroom dance song in final fantasy 8 ("waltz for the moon").

if you wanted a "requiem" sound... it'd be like... very low... kind of scary sounding... and perhaps fast paced? anything low with lots of tremlos (like violin stuff perhaps) sounds scary >) ... unless you're using a major scale. but then again that still might sound happy in a scary way.

if you want some 'etude' sound... get some chick to sing some sappy lyrics; have her practically moaning them in some huge grief. all about some person that died.

i haven't been on this board forever. you're all retarded. ^_^
-AeroZ

GuitarmanTim
07-05-2002, 06:04 AM