PDA

View Full Version : How does electricity work?

Cecil
05-10-2002, 08:04 PM
Just wondering if anyone here was a rocket scientist and wanted to explain it to a lower life form.

Beldaran
05-10-2002, 08:06 PM
Well, I'm not a rocket scientist, but electricity is just the flow of electrons from one thing to another. Electrons are little negative charges that fly around the nuclei of atoms. This flow of electrons can be used to generate heat, light, or just energy in general that can be used for work.

Cecil
05-10-2002, 09:29 PM
Well, I suppose that makes sense.

Ultra22Lemming
05-11-2002, 09:23 AM
I know how it gets created. You know outlit plugs. Well you have to put your finger in one. It always works!!!

Jemsee
05-11-2002, 10:14 AM
I used to be a rocket scientist but I was hit with a bolt of lighting (Bolt 3, I think) and it wiped my memory.
But I think I discovered how electronic circuits really work.
It's smoke that is the real thing that makes electric circuits work because every time you let the smoke out of the circuit, it quits working.
Of course smoke makes all things that are electronic work. Remember the last time smoke escaped from a capacitor?
Didn't it quit working?
I sat and smiled like an idiot when I realized this.
I remembered when I had saw the destruction of an large pole transformer. It leaked out so much smoke that it cracked and stopped working.
It's the wires that carrie the smoke from one electronic device to the next. Remember the strawberry poptarts and toster test.
Smoke came out with the fire and the toster stopped working.

:weirdo: :nerd: :goofy: :shocking: :shocking: :shocking:

Hermit
05-11-2002, 11:05 AM
That has got to be... one of the silliest... yet coolest replies I have ever heard Jemsee. Kudos to you for your extreme originality on that one ;)

Mitsukara
05-11-2002, 11:25 AM