PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Sword.

Elemental Knight
05-05-2002, 09:29 PM
I've been interested in getting a sword (perferably, a katana) for soem time now, and a fairly good oppourtunity has fallen into my lap. Mainly, that my Mom's agreed to let me have one, and that The Rowan Tree will be selling swords at MarCon, which I'm going to (MarCon = Multiple Alternative Realities Convention).

Anyhow, I'll admit that I'm new to swords in general. From what I've been able to garner off the web, the optimal hardness (in Rockwells, or Rc) is a 58Rc edge and a 45Rc spine (for a Katana). The handle doesn't have to be intricate (in fact, I'd rather it not be), nor do the fittings have to be 'cool' or 'authentic'. I'm just looking for a sword that works, no questions asked.

Anyhow, here are the two main swords that I'm looking at:

Practical Katana by The Rowan Tree (http://therowantree.com/practical.html)

Black Katana from SwordsOnline.com (http://www.swords-online.com/website/navigator.cgi?type=display&language=&uid=Y3P4uUPE56&refid=None&from=oriental&goto=uc814b&area=functional&sort=type&level=)

The first one seems better, but it's expensive. The second one's cheap, but I don't know the quality of it (and it seems like a display piece, even though it's listed under 'functional'). Also, TRT says the Rc up-front, which only helps their status in my mind.

So, for those who've had experience with swords in general (Katanas in particular), I want your help. Which sword should I aim for? Or do you know of another sword, which is cheaper & of higher quality than either of these?

[PS: I've got a friend who knows his way around swords, so I'll be asking him, too, tomorrow. Also, I plan to get a Bokken at MarCon, so don't think I'm diving straight into swordplay with real swords right away.]

Beldaran
05-05-2002, 09:36 PM
Originally posted by Elemental Knight
I'm just looking for a sword that works, no questions asked.

Why does this scare me?:laughing:

Dracula