PDA

View Full Version : Goemon's Great Adventure

Mak-X
05-01-2002, 07:13 PM
I bought Goeman's Great Adventure, the second N64 Mystical Ninja game, last saturday for about $25 used at EB Gameworld. I started playing it yesterday and it was hard at first...but its a lot of oldskool 2-D fun once I got the hang of the controls.

Unlike the first N64 game that was a full 3-D adventure (like a combo of Zelda and Mario), Goeman's Great Adventure goes back to its roots and the style of the SNES game in the U.S., Mystical Ninja, and features side scrolling 2-D gameplay with 3-D graphics. The graphics are similar and borrowed from Mystical Ninja (N64) such as the character models but improved to where you can see this is a sequel and Konami learned from the last game.

The side scrolling stages make up the bulk of the game. You must complete each stage to get each token in order to head to the boss stage. Sometimes you have to return to a stage again to find other tokens or do a task for a villager like finding music instruments. Because the game is basically a 3-D game with 2-D style stages, the stages will move and turn as you walk along the screen. It makes it much more interesting because you can see all the different paths and turns as you go through the stage. Most stages usually have a couple of different paths you can choose to go, usually to get powerups or other tokens.

The town areas are set on a 2-D path but you can move your character around a little bit like a 3-D game. When going into houses, the camera stays in one spot and rotates as you walk your character around. In the towns you can stop at the inn to save, buy food that refills your life when you reach 0, and buy armor that protects you from a few hits. There are plenty of villagers to talk to that give you hints on what you need to do and where to find certain items, as well as giving you tasks in the action stages.