PDA

View Full Version : Menokh... Need your help again.



Cronic
03-15-2002, 11:18 PM
and before someone says PM him I'd just like to say... Bite me :D Others may benifit from this info :p

Remember back in the day when you helped me solve my midi info issues? Any chance I could get that again. What you sent me worked like a charm. soundcard info is still the same so lemme know if you need it agin, and thank you :)

Menokh
03-15-2002, 11:37 PM
Oh god, that was ages ago.
Well assuming you had perfect midi sound before, and it's not working now. You should make sure you have the latest version of your sound card's drivers installed. Next in agsetup, make sure your midi driver is set to MPU-401.
I don't remember the stats of your sound card. Anyhow, if you do a microsoft update, you should be able to get the latest drivers, http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com.

Hope that helps.

Cronic
03-15-2002, 11:42 PM
heh, it's the same set up as before I just uninstaled, and haven't used this PC in forever so I need to redo everything ;)

Where do I go to find out the soundcard info you would need to asses the prob?

Menokh
03-15-2002, 11:47 PM
Click the start menu, then go to settings, then go to control panel, then double click on the System Icon, then click on the Device Manager tab, then expand the Sound video and Game Controllers section; your sound card should be listed in there.


That should work, but if you formatted you computer and reinstalled Windows that may not work, but it should.

Cronic
03-15-2002, 11:53 PM
http://www.zelda-gaming.com/azc/uploads/DC_SoundCard.jpg

There you are my good man :D

Menokh
03-16-2002, 12:00 AM
http://www.americas.creative.com/support/files/download.asp?Centric=17&OS=4&descID=1249

That should link you to a page on which you can download the latest drivers for your sound card.
Then of course, install them, reboot, and then set up sound in agsetup.

Cyclone
03-16-2002, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by Darth Cronic
and before someone says PM him I'd just like to say... Bite me :D

Um...thanks for offering, but I don't think I need a piece of you right now. :badrazz:

But yes, people may benefit from this. :)

Cyclone
cyclone@zeldaclassic.com

Cronic
03-16-2002, 12:42 AM
Nope didn't help... I remeber last time something about a screen shot of your port settings. Any chance I could get that again? I still get the buzzing noise of death.

Menokh
03-16-2002, 03:34 AM
Hmm..
Well at least you have up to date drivers.
Well here's the contents of my ag.cfg file for beta 104:


language = en
keyboard = us
[sound]
digi_card = -1
midi_card = MPU
digi_volume = 50
midi_volume = -1
digi_voices = -1
midi_voices = -1
flip_pan = 0
quality = 0
sound_port = -1
sound_dma = -1
sound_irq = -1
sound_freq = -1
fm_port = -1
mpu_port = -1
mpu_irq = -1
ibk_file =
ibk_drum_file =
patches =

[joystick]
joytype = STD
joystick_flags = 0
joycentre_x = 32
joycentre_y = 32
joyx_min = 0
joyx_low_margin = 0
joyx_high_margin = 0
joyx_max = 0
joyy_min = 0
joyy_low_margin = 0
joyy_high_margin = 0
joyy_max = 0
joycentre2_x = 0
joycentre2_y = 0
joyx2_min = 0
joyx2_low_margin = 0
joyx2_high_margin = 0
joyx2_max = 0
joyy2_min = 0
joyy2_low_margin = 0
joyy2_high_margin = 0
joyy2_max = 0
joythr_min = 0
joythr_max = 0
joyhat_0 = 0
joyhat_1 = 0
joyhat_2 = 0
joyhat_3 = 0

[zquest]
mouse_scroll = 1
save_paths = 1
cycle_on = 1
vsync = 1
showfps = 0
combo_brush = 0
brush_position = 0
float_brush = 0
open_last_quest = 0
show_misalignments = 0
animation_on = 1
layer_mask = 65535
midi_path = d:\Zelda Classic\zelda classic\Tim's quest music\BlobMidi\
image_path = e:\ZC192Beta\

[zeldadx]
key_a = 53
key_b = 52
key_s = 54
key_l = 38
key_r = 39
key_p = 28
key_up = 72
key_down = 80
key_left = 75
key_right = 77
btn_a = 2
btn_b = 1
btn_s = 3
btn_m = 4
btn_l = 5
btn_r = 6
btn_p = 7
sfx = 248
music = 255
pan = 1
volkeys = 0
vsync = 1
showfps = 0
fastquit = 0
title = 1
mode = 1447178818
resx = 320
resy = 240
sbig = 0
qst_dir = d:\Zelda Classic\zelda classic\
ss_after = 5
ss_speed = 2
ss_density = 3
heart_beep = 1


That will probably help get rid of the buzzing sound of death, but will most likely change your controls, so be sure to reset your controls.

EDIT: Actually you probably only need the sound section of that file, and replace your sound section.